Stained Glass Candy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I have used this recipe for several years. one of the easiest and most popular candies I make. I microwave the chocolate and use cashews as I don't care for walnuts. You can also vary the coatings. Let your imagination take over! Have used the coconut, but more popular is chocolate sprinkles. (multicolored ones are good during the holidays). Have also used ground graham crackers and other cookies and ground nuts. Feedback on the little round hard sprinkles is not so good. Have also used butterscotch chips, peanut butter chips, and mint chips which were popular, too. White choc chips were a bit soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
My mother and I have been making this recipe for a long time and I love it. The only difference is instead of coconut we use powdered sugar for the exterior. just put a good layer on the wax paper and roll it out like a log. chill in the refrigerator just like the recipe states. It is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I made these for my son-in-law who's mother made them every Christmas. He loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I really loved making this with my boys. I remember making this at Church Bible School when I was.....seven or eight and just having a blast, as did my little boys. I did use pecans instead of walnuts but that was the only change I made. Really, REALLY fun and I told my memories to my boys while we made them. It was just wonderful for all of us. NOTE: If you melt the chocolate with the butter and let it cool just a bit, add in the nuts and then pour it over the marshmallows, it works a little easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This is very much like the recipe my mother made back in the 1970s. Like some of the previous reviewers, I think it is easier to pour the mixture over the marshmallows, and I prefer to roll the mixture in the nuts. I used salted butter, which helps with the sweetness, and chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
this was so easy to make and the kids loved it, left out the coconut and nuts to make it friendly for a 1yr old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmy schmidt
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This is a very neat recipe. I found it very hard to form into rolls though. I think it could be placed inside of a loaf pan with the same results. (Which is what I will do next time)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
These were pretty good. I made them exactly as written. Next time I'm going to add more nuts thou...to me it tasted like marshmellows and chocolate chips. I think more nuts would make this perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREN1226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I made this recipe 25 years ago (without coconut)and it always brings back memories of christmas. It always looks so pretty and is so easy to make. My kids love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I used to make this candy as a child with my mother. She passed away 14 years ago, and I did not have the recipe. Through luck and some simple browsing, I happened upon it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States