Stained Glass Candy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
This is also good rolled in chopped nuts or just plain. I found it easier the 2nd time when I poured the chocolate OVER the marshmellows and nuts. Finger licking good! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I really loved making this with my boys. I remember making this at Church Bible School when I was.....seven or eight and just having a blast, as did my little boys. I did use pecans instead of walnuts but that was the only change I made. Really, REALLY fun and I told my memories to my boys while we made them. It was just wonderful for all of us. NOTE: If you melt the chocolate with the butter and let it cool just a bit, add in the nuts and then pour it over the marshmallows, it works a little easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
this was so easy to make and the kids loved it, left out the coconut and nuts to make it friendly for a 1yr old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmy schmidt
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I had made this recipe over 20 years ago and was so happy to find it again. Instead of wax paper the new reynolds release foil is wonderful to use nothing sticks. Also in a pinch regular white marshmallows work great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This is very much like the recipe my mother made back in the 1970s. Like some of the previous reviewers, I think it is easier to pour the mixture over the marshmallows, and I prefer to roll the mixture in the nuts. I used salted butter, which helps with the sweetness, and chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I used to make this candy as a child with my mother. She passed away 14 years ago, and I did not have the recipe. Through luck and some simple browsing, I happened upon it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
Excellent recipe Bea, thanks for sharing! I made them for my friends bridal shower and they where a hit. An easier version is to spread the coconut onto a peice of wax paper and place the mixture tube length down the sheet then just roll the rest in cocunut, wrap with wax paper and place in fridge overnight. Just cut the next morning (I used my electrical knife). I think next time I'll try half semi-sweet chips half milk chocalate chips for a cremier taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I made these for my son-in-law who's mother made them every Christmas. He loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I was a little skeptical when I was making this, but when it's cut, it turns out beautifully! Everyone loved it, so I guess it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Seibert

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
My mother and I have been making this recipe for a long time and I love it. The only difference is instead of coconut we use powdered sugar for the exterior. just put a good layer on the wax paper and roll it out like a log. chill in the refrigerator just like the recipe states. It is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States