Stained Glass Candy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Excellent! I followed the advice of another reviewer and used unsweetened drink mix for the color and flavor. I made a red batch (fruit punch flavor) and a green batch (can't remember the flavor), poured half of each into pans, and swirled them together to create a marbled effect. Very easy and it tastes great. If you use Koolaid for your color and flavor, use two packets; I made the first batch with one packet and the flavor wasn't strong enough. [Edit to add: If you're having difficulties with the candy (ie., won't set up, turned brown, became bitter): these are temperature issues, not recipe issues. Test your candy thermometer by filling a glass with crushed ice, then filling with water, then inserting your thermometer; it should read 32 degrees. If it doesn't, make a note of the difference and use that to calculate how long to cook your candy.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I LOVE HARD ROCK CANDY AND SO DO MY KIDS, I DIDN'T DO THIS RECIPE THE WAY IT SAYS BECAUSE I KNOW HOW TO MAKE THIS CANDY. I SPRAYED 2 COOKIE SHEETS, PUT IT IN THE FRIDGE THEN WHEN I WENT TO CRACK IT I USED A MEAT TENDERIZER WRAPPED IN A TOWEL TO MINIMIZE THE CANDY BEIING THROWN ALL OVER, THEN I ADDED 1/8 CUP POWDERED SUGER INTO 2 ONE GALLON ZIPLOC BAGS AND COATED THE PIECES. IT WAS VERY GOOD AND WE ALL ENJOYED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dreamer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Black River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This is a real winner! I make it every Christmas, and sometimes at other holidays or for parties - keep your eye out for new extract flavors, as I have yet to find one that's not good in this. Also, try scoring the still warm candy (let it set up a few minutes so it's soft but not liquid) with a sharp pizza cutter (I use a kitchenaid one that has a really heavy blade). Scoring it first makes it easy to break into 'sticks' later - much easier to eat, and safer for smaller folks to handle -- I make the sticks about 1/2 inch wide and 4-5" long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This was my very first time making hard candy! I followed some of the advice here by omitting the coloring/flavoring and added instead 2 packs of unsweetened cherry Koolaid. Wow! The color is very bright, with lots of flavor, and turned out perfect! I didnt' have any trouble getting it out- I used a well-sprayed jelly roll pan and it broke into pieces easily. I wonder if those who had trouble did not get it to 310 degrees first... I know that took a long time, but I'm sure that if it's not hot enough, it becomes sticky and gooey and then will not break.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
This recipe is the easiest one I have used so far! It has become a hit at my daughter's sleep overs. I found out that you can use 1 unsweetened packet of kool-aid in place of the extract and food coloring. It gives it alot more flavor and plenty of color too. It worked alot better when I lined the pan with parchment paper. Just pull it out, wrap it up and drop it on the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
This is a recipe you CANNOT walk away from. It heats up VERY quickly. Add a little extra flavoring...Don't stir the food coloring all the way in and you get a neat "tie dyed" effect. The broken pieces can be sharp for little ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
recipe was very easy to do and i used the koolaid packets but my flavor didn't turn out very well, i used two packets like suggested but it almost tastes bitter or something! help what did i do wrong??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SallyStitches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2001
Do not use with a rubber spatula....BAD MISTAKE!!!! Tastes very good. *Recommended* Also, it can be reheated after hardening to use again. My kids found that scooping it into spoons and letting it harden that way made lollipops, for an idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2000
This is a very easy recipe. If you are at high altitude, only cook to 290 degrees. I cooked it longer to turn the candy golden, instead of adding food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
i made this for christmas last year and it did not work at all it never hardend so i had this sticky goo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montesano, Washington, USA
Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States