Stained Glass Candy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2000
This is a very easy recipe. If you are at high altitude, only cook to 290 degrees. I cooked it longer to turn the candy golden, instead of adding food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
So easy! I also tried making it with orange and lemon extract. I would recommend doubling the added flavoring to get a more distinct taste between the candies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
This is the best candy recipe I have ever used. Its simple, easy to make and everyone loves it. We made this for my little girls class at school for her Christmas ( we made one batch red and one batch green) project and it was a hit!! Everyone who taste this candy wants the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
Terrible recipe. I cut recipe in half and almost burn the house down. If you’re an inexperience candy maker like I, beware of this recipe. It will ruin your life and any futher candy making experiences for you.....I can still smell the stench of burn sugar.....Negative 5 stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justasmile79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2001
Do not use with a rubber spatula....BAD MISTAKE!!!! Tastes very good. *Recommended* Also, it can be reheated after hardening to use again. My kids found that scooping it into spoons and letting it harden that way made lollipops, for an idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
This is a recipe you CANNOT walk away from. It heats up VERY quickly. Add a little extra flavoring...Don't stir the food coloring all the way in and you get a neat "tie dyed" effect. The broken pieces can be sharp for little ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
I used lemon extract and the flavor was good, but I thought this recipe was very messy and when I heated it on high heat it overflowed quickly. I would not try this recipe again unless I had some more people to help. I ended up just throwing out what did not overflow. Too messy for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
All of my family and friends loved the sweet treat after dinner on Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
Easy to make, and a real treat. I made mine with peppermint extract and they were a huge hit at the office party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
This recipe didn't thrill me as much as I'd hoped. It came out very sticky and there had to be some more extract added for more flavor; without it, it just tasted like cooked sugar. I added another tbs-1/2 of extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Candy Corn Cupcakes

Make these super simple and cute candy corn cupcakes for Halloween!

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States