Staffordshire Oatcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
My husband is a Stokie and cant live without his oatcakes. He loves to put them under the broiler with cheese and bacon.... cant say the oats help the cholesterol that way! Make these a day or two ahead, stack them on a plate and cover with saran wrap. They are great for quick lunch with tuna or chicken salad. They are wonderful re-warmed wrapped around scrambled eggs or cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Veradale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I wonder if I did something wrong with this, because my batter was so thick it was not at all spreadable. I had to add alot more liquid to even begin to spread it and it took a long time too cook, and came out rather tough and doughy. Something was wrong with the liquid/dry ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I've just made these for New Years' Breakfast.They are much thicker and denser than pancakes that we are used to. Directions say "spoon to make a thin pancake," but my batter was much too thick to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
great recipe very much like crepes but the yeast and oat flour give them an unmistakable flavour .enjoyed with bacon and eggs on a lazy sunday morning .A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Something is wrong with the proportions in this recipe. The oatcakes should be like crepes. The batter in this recipe is much too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
best with a sausage inside and a good amount of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah.sazaroo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Didn't quite taste the same as back home, but still an okay recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Increased liquid/flour ratio to 2:1. Used 1 package of yeast. Added 1 tsp baking powder before frying in hot griddle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States