Stack of Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Good flavor, but a pain to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
These were ok but I couldn't keep the breading on these. I tried pat drying the onions before dipping them and time and time again the breading just fell right off. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
These were better than I thought they would be. However, I did have the same problem a few others have reported as far as getting the flour to stick. What I did was mixed the flour and bread crumbs together. I dipped the onions in the egg/cream mixture and then into the flour & crumbs. It seemed to work out fine. I also used half & half since I didn't have any heavy cream but the taste was good and they were gone within a matter of minutes. I also used my deep fryer to make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wareham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Use cornflake crumbs, crispier and much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Living In: Gardena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I recognize that everyone else really enjoyed this recipe, but I did not. First of all, when I am eating something loaded down with fat, I want it to be AWESOME! I could NOT get the breadcrumbs to stick to the onions! I crushed the crumbs down to almost nothing, but they would not stay on the onions. I then got frustrated with that and started just coating with flour and dipping in the batter. I couldn't tell the difference between the two. My bread crumbs were soggy and stuck together; they ended up being a great treat for my dogs! When eating the rings, they were incredibly bland. Maybe if the crumbs would have stuck it would have tasted better, but that didn't work. I sprinkled with garlic salt and that seemed to give some flavor. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SistaMaggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bethel, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Excellent. This was so easy and delicious. First time I have ever had luck with onion rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
These onion rings were awesome!! So easy to make and so tasty. I didn't give them five stars because they felt like they were missing something in flavor, but I couldn't put my finger on it (my husband said they were a 4.25 rating).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I think I have tried every onion ring recipe on this site and this is my favorite so far. I didn't have the cream so I used milk instead and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
These went over very well with everybody. I was told to keep this recipe for the next onion ring craving. I followed the recipe except that I fried them in vegetable oil. I used my fry daddy with helps with the oil tempature alot. Watch them closely they cook VERY fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLELADYJONES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Primghar, Iowa, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States