Staci's Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
***WARNING*** DO NOT PREHEAT OVEN BEFORE PLACING PYREX OR ANY KIND OF GLASS BAKING DISH IN A HOT OVEN! PLACE COLD CASSEROLES IN A COLD OVEN!!!! PLACE DISH INTO COLD OVEN FROM REFRIGERATOR AND THEN TURN ON TO 375! Your dish will break/shatter if placed into hot oven straight from refrigeration! I've made many stratas over the years. It still takes 45 min - 1 hour to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Yep! It's as good as they say. Easy easy, and therefore fun! The smoked sausage or kielbasa and onions add a nice flavor. I picked this recipe to use up half a loaf of ww bread. As others suggested, I reduced the milk to about 3 cups. Turned out perfect and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Nice fluffy recipe. Being from Canada, I made the recipe with 8oz of back bacon. I used 7 eggs instead of 10, and it was still as fluffy as it should be. Instead of dry mustard, I used about 2 tblsp. of dijon mustard. This was an awesome recipe that I will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This recipe was so easy and delicious! I made a few minor adjustments. I used the entire 13oz package of turkey kielbasa and 3/4 loaf of a 16oz Italian baguette. I also didn't have dry mustard so I substituted 1TB of prepared mustard. The strata was a tad watery after cooking but everything was fully cooked. I think next time I'll reduce the milk to 3 cups instead of 4. I also think I will chop the kielbasa into small pieces next time as well. Overall the flavor was fantastic and it was so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Di

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I make breakfast for 30 people once a month and this is one of the menu items. It always gets compliments and requests for the recipe. I love that it can be made the night before. I use ham. Thanks for a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was a hit at the office. The french bread lent a nice texture, better than the white bread stratas. Also, we are blessed with many fine German and Czech sausages here in south central Texas so I used a good pork/venison garlic sausage. The nutmeg added a nice earthy flavor reminiscent of some of my favorite Norwegian recipes. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas2Step

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Fantastic!!! I actually added crisp bacon in with ham and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
The flavor of this strata is great. I had a bit of a problem with getting all of the liquid/egg mixture to cook like some of the other reviewers. I think next time I'll reduce the liquid a bit and it should be fine. I baked it for the allotted time, then covered it with foil to prevent burning and let it cook longer. It mostly solved the problem, but it was still a bit mushy on the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This was great. Followed mostly as written; I subbed mushrooms for the sausage and I cut the recipe in half (cooked it in a square 8-inch pan). Not too eggy tasting, which my boyfriend prefers. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
The flavor of this recipe was outstanding - green onions, cheddar, cream, yum. I modified this recipe for 4, and I think the measurements the website gives don't really translate well. I couldn't get it to firm up. After an hour and a half in the oven, I gave up. And even with foil on top to keep it from burning, the top still got really tough, so really no part of it was serviceable. I'm so disappointed because like I said, it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Mom's Breakfast Strata

A savory strata with ham, mushrooms, peppers, and melted Cheddar.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States