Stabilized Whipped Cream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Very easy, held up extemely well! I used confectioner's sugar, and added about 4 times what the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I used this just for garnish on a cheesecake. It was exactly what I was looking for and held up great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENELLEBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Really great when you don't want your whipped cream to weep all over the place. I used it to frost a jelly roll and it came out perfectly and held beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I read through a ton of these reviews and felt I was making an informed decision when I opted to use the 2 tsps of gelatin rather than the 1 tsp called for. I certainly got a nice firm whipped topping that piped onto my 4th of July Strawberry Trifle. Too firm actually, it was reminiscent of caulking and not the soft, gental peaks of cream I was hoping for. Next time I'll know better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I used this variaton and it was perfect!!! ~2 teaspoons gelatin, 4 teaspoons cold water, 1 cup heavy whipping cream, 1/4 cup confectioners' sugar, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract.... Combine gelatin and cold water. Whip the cream, and add confectioner's sugar. Add gelatin mixture and vanilla extract. Continue whipping until the gelatin is incorporated. Lovely firm texture and beautifully spreadable. I stuck it in the freezer for a short time to firm the icing a little more. It came out splendidly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
439 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cakebuilder
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This is a really great recipe for decorating with a piping bag. I added about 1 Tbsp of instant coffee granules to the gelatin/water mixture right after I pulled it out of the microwave. I found that the coffee really cut the sweetness of the icing, so I ended up adding extra sifted powdered sugar (maybe about 1/4 cup) until the icing was sweet enough for me. I used this icing on the chocolate mocha cake I and they were very good together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakebuilder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I've used this twice now and it's worked out great both times....definitely dissolve the gelatin slowly in a pan on the stove, takes moments and works better. I don't add extra sugar b/c I use it on an extra rich chocolate cake which makes a nice counterpoint to the not too sweet icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetjunkie
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly as indicated and it turned out wonderfully. It's a great recipe if you want a frosting that is not overpoweringly sweet, and it holds up well. I substituted coconut extract for the vanilla and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetjunkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This is excellent. I added your recommended amount of gelatine to my regular sweetened whipped cream recipe and it worked like a dream! The whipped cream stays put, is easier to manipulate and holds its shape. Also no effect at all on the taste. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This IS NOT frosting, it is stabilized, whipped cream. You can put the gelatin and water in a very small dish and place that in some hot water to dissolve it, if you can't get the hang of the microwave. I have been using this for a long time, and it's works out well if you follow the directions, and do not overbeat the cream. I always add 1/4 C powdered sugar, as this does not seem like enough. I have used it on cakes, key lime pie, strawberry pie, along side of a molten lava cake, and to decorate the top of cheesecakes. Of course, anything made with this must be refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States