Stabilized Whipped Cream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by trocks
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I tried making this using cold water and also go the lumps of gelatin in my frosting and had to throw it away. I didn't have any problems microwaving it but didn't do it for the full 3 minutes and stopped every 30 seconds to stir. I used 1/4 cup of powdered sugar instead of the 1 tablespoon white sugar and it was a perfect amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YummyCook
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
My long search is over! I love this frosting. It's absolutely perfect, and if you've ever had birthday cakes from Chinese bakeries, THIS is identical to the frosting on those cakes. It's light, and not too sweet. I will never use butter frosting for my white cakes ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummyCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Simply awesome - my family loved it! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKTRUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Forest, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Used this on the Hungarian Flourless Hazelnut Cake. Perfect! I've been looking for this for years. Really stands up (last slice of cake was eaten 3 days later, and cream was still good). I flavored with 1 tbs. Amaretto, and a good time was had by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JimC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elfgirl1968
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Good recipe. I heated my gelatin in a double broiler instead of the microwave. I also wanted mine a bit sweeter, so I added 3 - 4 tablespoons of 10x powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corralitos, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Duncan Davis
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I have to give this recipe 4 stars as is, with a few changes it’s a Five. After reading other reviews I mixed the gelatin in a small glass bowl of cool water if you add it slowly it will almost mix itself. Then heat in microwave on half power (about 500 watts) for 10 sec. this worked wonderful for me. Do chill the beaters and bowl. Allow gelatin to cool a bit then follow the recipe as written. I used spenda run through a grinder to make it carb. and sugar free. It was just what I needed to make mother in laws reduced sugar birthday cake look like it was "cheating". Thank you ETHELMERTZ this is as close as I am going to get to the commercial whipped topping used on the low sugar cakes at the mall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Photo by TwinkyMara
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
What a GREAT recipe to use for decorators! It held up really well to my decorating needs. It never tried to ooze over or anything! It was very fluffy and just perfect. I did however use a tub of cool whip in place of the whipping cream which made it SUPER easy! I will only be doing that from now on as a matter of fact because it made the whole process so simple. I also used a mixture of almond extract and vanilla because my family loves my almond icing. The other big plus about this recipe is that I could not ask for a better cleanup! NO grease or lard to pick out of my decorating tips, just ran under hot water until it melted and washed with soap and water! Didn't even have to pull out my brush cleaner. I am so happy about this recipe that I may never make buttercream again (unless asked to)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwinkyMara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This recipe was beautiful!! Very easy to make and very tasty. I decorated my sister's birthday cake with this. I first want to say that I SUCK at decorating cakes. And the decorating came out pretty good. I think it was this icing :D. I will definitely keep this recipe to use the next time! Also. I gave it 5 stars. I don't give anything 5 stars because I am a culinary student and I KNOW good!! This recipe rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHICgirl09

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waterman, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I read through a ton of these reviews and felt I was making an informed decision when I opted to use the 2 tsps of gelatin rather than the 1 tsp called for. I certainly got a nice firm whipped topping that piped onto my 4th of July Strawberry Trifle. Too firm actually, it was reminiscent of caulking and not the soft, gental peaks of cream I was hoping for. Next time I'll know better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This IS NOT frosting, it is stabilized, whipped cream. You can put the gelatin and water in a very small dish and place that in some hot water to dissolve it, if you can't get the hang of the microwave. I have been using this for a long time, and it's works out well if you follow the directions, and do not overbeat the cream. I always add 1/4 C powdered sugar, as this does not seem like enough. I have used it on cakes, key lime pie, strawberry pie, along side of a molten lava cake, and to decorate the top of cheesecakes. Of course, anything made with this must be refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States