Stabilized Whipped Cream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
i used this for a tiramasu cake. easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSW00DY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
As much as I love the idea of stabilizing whipped cream, I have to say that following the recipe ruined my whipped cream icing, because the gelatin got overcooked in 3 minutes in the microwave. I think 30 sec - 1 min would have been enough. But I didn't have time to redo the gelatin, so I sent it with my daughter to school, with lumps of gelatin in it. Yuk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This was pretty good. I did not heat the gelatin but rather just put it in the cold water and then added it to the mix. I used 2 t gelatin 1/4 cup confecitonars sugar and 2 t vanilla extract. I will probally add more vanilla next time. it was just like frosting though and still tasted good. I might also next time go with one of the half cream cheese half whipped cream frostings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I am a caterer and this method is invaluable, especially in the summer months. it is the ONLY recipe for stabilized whipped cream that I have tried,that doesn't have little flecks of hardened gelatin through the cream. I don't use it only for "icing"; also for topping pies and shortcakes, etc. it keeps in the refrigerator for a couple of days without breaking down at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This recipe isn't so great; it waters down the cream with water and gelatin! You don't need 1/4 c. water, only a Tablespoon or two, and you should only need 1/2 tsp. gelatin per cup of heavy cream. In this context, you don't ever want to boil the gelatin, and you shouldn't stir it (it causes it to lump) until mixing it with the cream. In order to prevent stringing or balling in the cream, you should temper it by mixing a small amount of cream into the gelatin first, then adding it to the rest. This can be a tricky process, but these little hints make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This makes a really nice topping. Was a bit messy for cupcakes but would do great on a cake or pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I must admit, I had to take a couple of tries at this to get it right wasting ingredients which I hate to do but I was determined to accomplight this. I tried the original recipe instructions and found that the microwave method just didn't work for me. So, I took the advice of the first reviewer "HeatherLovesBudgies" and it worked for me. And, while I'm not sure if I'd make this again I'm happy for the learning experience...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Great recipe thanks! I used it to substitute frozen whipped topping in a pie filling. It worked perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Just finished making this to top off some cupcakes for Easter. Only thing I did different was dissolve the gelatin using the stove top instead of microwave. The icing came out beautiful and piped very nicely on the cupcakes. It's definitely not on the sweet side, so I can see why some may want to add additional sugar, but I love it as is and will definitely use this recipe the next time I need any sort of whipped cream! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I must of done something wrong it was horrible. I followed the steps to a "T" it piped well but the texture and taste were bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Godfrey, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States