Stabilized Whipped Cream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Excellent Whipped Icing! I used 6 little packages of splenda in place of the sugar and disolved the geletin with 1/4 c. of the cream (30 seconds in 50% heat in the microwave) I cooled the geletin mixture and just drizzled it in just as the cream was coming together. I spread this on a Tres Leches cake Smooth as silk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
What I do with softened and disolved gelatin is pass it through a fine sieve to eliminate any grit........It seems to be a problem for many people so please try this idea...........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This is the best recipe. I love it, and I used it for my wedding cake. It isn't very sweet, so its perfect for fruit (our cake was filled with raspberries), and for light cakes. My method is to forget about the microwave. I boil water and mix it together. I stir it and just carry it around with me like a teacup stirring until its cooled down. its very little water and cools quickly. As a wedding present we received a butter warmer - makes it even easier to make this recipe! If the gelatin starts to set before the whipped cream is ready, I can heat it up again and swoosh it around until its at the right temp. I got bored while waiting and added the sugar and vanilla into the gelatin mixture. Came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was perfect for the recipe I made. It was easy and I was delighted that I did not have to used the icky stuff from the store. Since I do not have a microwave I made this using the stove top and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Tasted great and looked beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
The 3 stars for this recipe is for the method written. For 5 stars I made the following changes on the second batch I made: Skip the water and use about 1/4 cup of cream to soften the gelatin. Placed in the micro for 15 seconds is plenty to warm and dissolve the gelatin. Do this while the remaining cream is whipping in the mixer -SLOWLY. Once the cream has thickened and begins to form "waves" add your sugar slowly (I used 1/2 cup powdered sugar - makes for a much smoother, non gritty, texture than the granulated sugar gives) and beat until it forms firm peaks. Then stream in the cooled gelatin but on low speed. Once blended stop mixing. Chill for 30 minutes then frost away! This can now be piped, spread or used between layers. I used on top of an ice cream cake and it froze perfectly. I also piped a decorative border on pumpkin pie. Wonderful fresh taste. Great presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I only make about 10 cakes a year for other people, so I'm far from a pro! This time the order was for whipped frosting, which I've never made. I tried a few, and this one turned out best! I used 50% power in the microwave for 30 sec, stuck it in the freezer while I beat the other ingredients (on low as suggested on several other recipes to make tiny uniform bubbles that won't pop). When I was done mixing, the gelatin was cool and I added that in. I kept tasting it and adding more sugar (I used all confectioner) and ended up using about a cup to make it frosting sweet. The consistency turned out perfect. I was able to make basic decorations with big tips, and once I put the cake in the refrigerator it kept it's shape for 24 hours, then for another 2 hours during a birthday party at room temp. before it got eaten. I made a 10' and 8' round tiered cake and needed 3x this recipe to finish the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This works! I initially tried to follow some of the suggestions in the comments, but I think the real directions were better. The gelatin needs that 1/4 cup of water and it absolutely needs to be heated to dissolve. In fact, I almost gave up because I mixed up the gelatin in a small amount of cold water and it was just a glue ball. I almost threw it out, then decided to microwave it as directed. I did that and it worked beautifully. No more glops! It took waaay longer than 10 minutes to cool, tho. At least an hour. In fact, do that first so you're not waiting for the gelatin to cool. Also, I made the mistake of frosting the cake right after whipping this up. I needed to have refrigerated the whipped cream to make it sturdy enough to use for cake layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
i used this for a tiramasu cake. easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSW00DY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
As much as I love the idea of stabilizing whipped cream, I have to say that following the recipe ruined my whipped cream icing, because the gelatin got overcooked in 3 minutes in the microwave. I think 30 sec - 1 min would have been enough. But I didn't have time to redo the gelatin, so I sent it with my daughter to school, with lumps of gelatin in it. Yuk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States