Stabilized Whipped Cream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I tried this recipie to frost my cupcakes and it turned out just perfect. The next time i added a little caramel fr flavour and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
didn't work - boiling and stirring gelatin is not the way to go (clumping is the result)! another way to stabilize whipped cream is to halve a large marshmallow and microwave until almost melted and add while whipping (use 1 marshmallow per cup of cream)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
The measurements are off... it was runny. So I beated about 1 cup more of heavy cream and folded in, then I was able to pipe it on my cake. Plus it would not be enough to cover 10" cake (not tall). With extra cup heavy cream, it was just right. Also you dont have to microwave it for 3 min, just make sure its melted. I used half cold water to soak, then half hot water and microwaved the mixture for 10 more seconds. So this worth only 3 stars as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Decent recipe, great idea. Be extremely careful with gelatin because it will stick to anything and everything and form bumps in your icing if you don't pay attention.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Cui

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I love how some people alter the recipes and get a unique and delicious result, I however did not, I made the stabilized whipped cream frosting just as the recipe calls and I was very happy with the results. A delicious light and fluffy frosting. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Baldwin Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Superb recipe although I followed HeatherLovesBudgies's way of doing it. I've made this with unflavoured gelatin as well as flavoured jello powder instead of the gelatin - works like a charm! For those who can't find her review easily here's an extract from it: " ~2 teaspoons gelatin, 4 teaspoons cold water, 1 cup heavy whipping cream, 1/4 cup confectioners' sugar, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract.... Combine gelatin and cold water. Whip the cream, and add confectioner's sugar. Add gelatin mixture and vanilla extract. Continue whipping until the gelatin is incorporated. Lovely firm texture and beautifully spreadable. I stuck it in the freezer for a short time to firm the icing a little more. It came out splendidly!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
1/4 cup of water seems too much for the gelatin. I use 1 Tbs Gelatin with 4 tsp. water. I put mine in the microwave for 30 seconds stirring every 15 seconds. Set aside to cool to room temp. Or you can set the bowl or cup of gelatin in a pan of simmering water stirring until gelatin is dissolved and cool to room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This is a great recipe. Cooks illustrated recommends using gelatin for their whipped cream frosting. This frosting held up great and I was able to pour a ganache like frosting and it stayed on the top of the cake making it look beautiful. I wish it was just a little more sweet. Maybe next time I could try more sugar. I doubled the recipe andI ended up using 3 out of the 4 cups. Doubling the recipe uses the whole packet of gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I just made the icing. Found the 10 minute sit time for the gelatin was too long. It hardened on me but I put it in microwave for 10 seconds to liquefy it again. It tastes great and pipes well too but personally I would of preferred it to be a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
so I made this twice in 2 different ways. The first was with dairy cream and this recipe had to be tweaked to 2 tsp gelatin and 4 tsp water to 1 cup heavy whipping cream. Not sure how much extra sugar we added because we added it to taste. The second way I used coconut cream from canned coconut. Separate the cream from the liquid by chilling cans in your fridge. Get 1 cup coconut cream (can be different for each can/manufacturer). 1 c coconut cream, 3 Tbsp gelatin 1/4 c water. This was done through trial and error but essentially turned out almost exactly the same as the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States