Stabilized Whipped Cream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
Every time I add the gelatin to the whipping cream it clumps. What should I do?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Stalter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
This is a great recipe. I made a birthday cake for my best friend for her birthday however she does not like regular icing so I used this recipe because she loves whipped cream however I knew that wasn't stiff enough to pipe with. Although this is a great recipe to use you do have to add more sugar to give is the correct taste and a little more gelatin to give it the correct consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
This worked quite well for me. I used one sheet of gelatine instead of the powder and left out the vanilla. I then folded this into mascarpone for a cream pie and it held up perfectly. I think some people may have issues with the gelatine because not all are the same, nor are microwaves. I just used lukewarm water and allowed the sheets to rest, no microwaving necessary. Thank you ethelmertz for this idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Desparate for a creamy cake and didn't have any cream. I made mine with coffee whitener, geletine and water. Left this to set in the fridge. I then added buttercream icing (1/2 pack icing sugar, 2oz butter). Whipped the whole lot together with some vanilla and piped on the top of cup cakes and sprinkled with chocolate. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Watts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I tried this recipie to frost my cupcakes and it turned out just perfect. The next time i added a little caramel fr flavour and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
didn't work for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
The measurements are off... it was runny. So I beated about 1 cup more of heavy cream and folded in, then I was able to pipe it on my cake. Plus it would not be enough to cover 10" cake (not tall). With extra cup heavy cream, it was just right. Also you dont have to microwave it for 3 min, just make sure its melted. I used half cold water to soak, then half hot water and microwaved the mixture for 10 more seconds. So this worth only 3 stars as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Decent recipe, great idea. Be extremely careful with gelatin because it will stick to anything and everything and form bumps in your icing if you don't pay attention.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Cui

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I love how some people alter the recipes and get a unique and delicious result, I however did not, I made the stabilized whipped cream frosting just as the recipe calls and I was very happy with the results. A delicious light and fluffy frosting. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Baldwin Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Superb recipe although I followed HeatherLovesBudgies's way of doing it. I've made this with unflavoured gelatin as well as flavoured jello powder instead of the gelatin - works like a charm! For those who can't find her review easily here's an extract from it: " ~2 teaspoons gelatin, 4 teaspoons cold water, 1 cup heavy whipping cream, 1/4 cup confectioners' sugar, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract.... Combine gelatin and cold water. Whip the cream, and add confectioner's sugar. Add gelatin mixture and vanilla extract. Continue whipping until the gelatin is incorporated. Lovely firm texture and beautifully spreadable. I stuck it in the freezer for a short time to firm the icing a little more. It came out splendidly!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riri2

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States