Stabilized Whipped Cream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by robograndma
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I have to give this recipe 4 stars as is, with a few changes it’s a Five. After reading other reviews I mixed the gelatin in a small glass bowl of cool water if you add it slowly it will almost mix itself. Then heat in microwave on half power (about 500 watts) for 10 sec. this worked wonderful for me. Do chill the beaters and bowl. Allow gelatin to cool a bit then follow the recipe as written. I used spenda run through a grinder to make it carb. and sugar free. It was just what I needed to make mother in laws reduced sugar birthday cake look like it was "cheating". Thank you ETHELMERTZ this is as close as I am going to get to the commercial whipped topping used on the low sugar cakes at the mall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robograndma
Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA
Photo by TwinkyMara
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
What a GREAT recipe to use for decorators! It held up really well to my decorating needs. It never tried to ooze over or anything! It was very fluffy and just perfect. I did however use a tub of cool whip in place of the whipping cream which made it SUPER easy! I will only be doing that from now on as a matter of fact because it made the whole process so simple. I also used a mixture of almond extract and vanilla because my family loves my almond icing. The other big plus about this recipe is that I could not ask for a better cleanup! NO grease or lard to pick out of my decorating tips, just ran under hot water until it melted and washed with soap and water! Didn't even have to pull out my brush cleaner. I am so happy about this recipe that I may never make buttercream again (unless asked to)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwinkyMara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This recipe was beautiful!! Very easy to make and very tasty. I decorated my sister's birthday cake with this. I first want to say that I SUCK at decorating cakes. And the decorating came out pretty good. I think it was this icing :D. I will definitely keep this recipe to use the next time! Also. I gave it 5 stars. I don't give anything 5 stars because I am a culinary student and I KNOW good!! This recipe rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHICgirl09

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waterman, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I read through a ton of these reviews and felt I was making an informed decision when I opted to use the 2 tsps of gelatin rather than the 1 tsp called for. I certainly got a nice firm whipped topping that piped onto my 4th of July Strawberry Trifle. Too firm actually, it was reminiscent of caulking and not the soft, gental peaks of cream I was hoping for. Next time I'll know better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This IS NOT frosting, it is stabilized, whipped cream. You can put the gelatin and water in a very small dish and place that in some hot water to dissolve it, if you can't get the hang of the microwave. I have been using this for a long time, and it's works out well if you follow the directions, and do not overbeat the cream. I always add 1/4 C powdered sugar, as this does not seem like enough. I have used it on cakes, key lime pie, strawberry pie, along side of a molten lava cake, and to decorate the top of cheesecakes. Of course, anything made with this must be refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This is excellent. I added your recommended amount of gelatine to my regular sweetened whipped cream recipe and it worked like a dream! The whipped cream stays put, is easier to manipulate and holds its shape. Also no effect at all on the taste. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetjunkie
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly as indicated and it turned out wonderfully. It's a great recipe if you want a frosting that is not overpoweringly sweet, and it holds up well. I substituted coconut extract for the vanilla and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetjunkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and my gelatin mixture lumped up when I combined it with the cream. Definitely needed more sugar. I ended up picking out all the lumps and piped it onto cupcakes. It was perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I so wanted to be the one who gives this recipe a five, but unfortunately, it didnt work out so well for me either. Unlike other reviewers, I do not expect this to taste differently from whipped cream. It IS whipped cream!! I just wanted it to stand stiffer for a whipped cream. Mine came out a little grainy, without over beating it. I always make whipped cream, and I know you shouldn't over beat it. It got grainy after I added the gelatin. Maybe I did something wrong, so I am willing to try it again, and change my rating if it works out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
It must be the gelatin in it but this tasted just like Coolwhip to me. I love the way heavy cream tastes when it's whipped fresh but this had that weird after taste to it. For all the steps involved, and the cost of the ingredients, I will probably buy CoolWhip next time I need this. I was kind of disappointed! Also- you should note that this has a very lose consistancy until you put it in the fridge to firm up. I actually made it twice because I thought I did it wrong the first time since it was so runny. An hour later, both batches were like Jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States