Stabilized Whipped Cream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I just made the icing. Found the 10 minute sit time for the gelatin was too long. It hardened on me but I put it in microwave for 10 seconds to liquefy it again. It tastes great and pipes well too but personally I would of preferred it to be a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
so I made this twice in 2 different ways. The first was with dairy cream and this recipe had to be tweaked to 2 tsp gelatin and 4 tsp water to 1 cup heavy whipping cream. Not sure how much extra sugar we added because we added it to taste. The second way I used coconut cream from canned coconut. Separate the cream from the liquid by chilling cans in your fridge. Get 1 cup coconut cream (can be different for each can/manufacturer). 1 c coconut cream, 3 Tbsp gelatin 1/4 c water. This was done through trial and error but essentially turned out almost exactly the same as the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I sort of used this + the Whipped Cream Mousse Frosting on this site, got a rich firm frosting - the gelatin is a tricky detail to get right. After a while - learned to do the gelatin first - so it's cooled when the rest of process is ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
There was bits of gelatin in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
It actually held up well. I was very surprised. I added about a tablespoon extra of sugar because it wasn't sweet enough. I loved it! I will definitely be making this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I found another recipe for Stabilized Whipping Cream and it's much easier. It's also for one cup of whipping cream. You just bloom 1 teaspoonful gelatin in 1 tablespoonful of hot water. Sweeten with enough powdered sugar to your taste and add 1 teaspoonful vanilla and add the bloomed gelatin. Be careful that you don't beat the mixture too long or you end up with butter and sweetened buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This didn't work for me- the gelatin either didn't dissolve or did dissolve and immediately started clumping up. The product was grainy, had lumps of gelatin, and looked "broken." I did use HeatherLovesBudgies's technique after reading the feedback and was swayed by the number of people who noted it as helpful so that may have been the problem. Could also be a user error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I had to tweak it to my likes. I used 2 tsp gelatin,4 tsp water and at least 1/4 c confectioners sugar maybe closer to 1/2 cup actually and it was fantastic, now I am going to try to add chocolate to it!! My dilemma melted or dry?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I made this Icing for my Grandmother's 90th Bday party cake. I followed the recipe exactly except that a increased the sugar a bit to suit my taste.The icing was the perfect consistancy. Decorating I did with the icing held up great. Very professional looking and tasting. Some guests at the party thought the cake was purchased from a bakery! Plan to use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Using this recipe as a guideline, the end product was a success. I did not use the microwave - instead I combined the water and gelatin and gently warmed over the stovetop. I also substituted confectioner's sugar (1/4 cup) for regular sugar. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. The "frosting" was indeed more stable than normal whipping cream and was delicious on a strawberry cake - very light. With modifications to the recipe, I'd give it a 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States