Stabilized Whipped Cream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and my gelatin mixture lumped up when I combined it with the cream. Definitely needed more sugar. I ended up picking out all the lumps and piped it onto cupcakes. It was perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I so wanted to be the one who gives this recipe a five, but unfortunately, it didnt work out so well for me either. Unlike other reviewers, I do not expect this to taste differently from whipped cream. It IS whipped cream!! I just wanted it to stand stiffer for a whipped cream. Mine came out a little grainy, without over beating it. I always make whipped cream, and I know you shouldn't over beat it. It got grainy after I added the gelatin. Maybe I did something wrong, so I am willing to try it again, and change my rating if it works out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
It must be the gelatin in it but this tasted just like Coolwhip to me. I love the way heavy cream tastes when it's whipped fresh but this had that weird after taste to it. For all the steps involved, and the cost of the ingredients, I will probably buy CoolWhip next time I need this. I was kind of disappointed! Also- you should note that this has a very lose consistancy until you put it in the fridge to firm up. I actually made it twice because I thought I did it wrong the first time since it was so runny. An hour later, both batches were like Jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I've used this twice now and it's worked out great both times....definitely dissolve the gelatin slowly in a pan on the stove, takes moments and works better. I don't add extra sugar b/c I use it on an extra rich chocolate cake which makes a nice counterpoint to the not too sweet icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I took advice from others and altered this a bit. I used 2t gelatin to 1/4 c water. I did not use the microwave as it tends to heat too quickly and boils over. Instead I disolved it on the stove top over very low heat. Once it had disolved and while the gelatin was cooling I started whipping the cream 1 cup with 1/4 cup powdered sugar and 1 t vanilla. Came out nicely. Not very sweet. If you like you could add more sugar. Word of advice, use this quickly. As it sits it becomes harder to spread it smoothly. Overall I liked it and think I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cakebuilder
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This is a really great recipe for decorating with a piping bag. I added about 1 Tbsp of instant coffee granules to the gelatin/water mixture right after I pulled it out of the microwave. I found that the coffee really cut the sweetness of the icing, so I ended up adding extra sifted powdered sugar (maybe about 1/4 cup) until the icing was sweet enough for me. I used this icing on the chocolate mocha cake I and they were very good together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakebuilder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I used this just for garnish on a cheesecake. It was exactly what I was looking for and held up great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENELLEBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Really good recipie, definitely does its job. It worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I used this variaton and it was perfect!!! ~2 teaspoons gelatin, 4 teaspoons cold water, 1 cup heavy whipping cream, 1/4 cup confectioners' sugar, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract.... Combine gelatin and cold water. Whip the cream, and add confectioner's sugar. Add gelatin mixture and vanilla extract. Continue whipping until the gelatin is incorporated. Lovely firm texture and beautifully spreadable. I stuck it in the freezer for a short time to firm the icing a little more. It came out splendidly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
456 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I had to tweak this A LOT to get it to work. There isn't enough sugar or gelatin. Here's what I did instead: 2 teaspoons gelatin, 4 teaspoons cold water, 1 cup heavy whipping cream, 1/4 cup confectioners' sugar, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract.... Combine gelatin and cold water. Whip the cream, and add confectioner's sugar. Add gelatin mixture and vanilla extract. Continue whipping until the gelatin is incorporated. Heating gelatin in the microwave never works for me, so I heat mine on the stovetop. Less mess, more consistent result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 91-100 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States