St. Patrick's Day Zucchini-Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Toddler Approved! I tried these cookies to use up some zucchini I had left over, and as a possibility for St. Patty's Day cookies. I made the recipe as written, except that I added a Tbsp. ground flaxseed to the dry ingredients. They are not a sweet cookie, and almost taste "good for you" (which is what I'm seeking anyway), but my 2-year-old son gobbled up his and begged for more. He is a tough critic when it comes to my cookies & really doesn't care for sweets. Needless to say, I will be making these again! I did add a few drops of green food coloring with St. Patty's Day in mind; it just tinted them and I will probably do that again for my cookie tray. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I modified the recipe to make it a bit healthier, adding half applesauce instead of butter, adding wheat bran and flaxseed. But even as written I think these would be fabulous cookies. They are not at all green. And as other suggested use 1 c chocolate chips instead of 2. I used 2 and it was way too many. They do not spread out as all as they cook either, but 12 minutes is exactly the time they need to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbruins79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
very good recipe for cookies better when cooled
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mxcutie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Really good cookies after a few adjustments. I wanted something healthy with some substance. I tweaked it slightly by using whole wheat, which gave it density. I used raisin bran cereal because I forgot to buy granola! I used raisins, added an additional 1/2 cup or so after the raisin bran. My sugar was 1/4 cup of sugar substitute and 1/2 white sugar. The cookies are really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I had a friend give me some zucchini that I was looking to do something different with. Had a brunch to bring a dish to pass, but no time to make actual cookies. Doubled the recipe, added a few more shakes of cinnamon, and put it into 2 9 x 13 pans. Used regular oatmeal and vanilla granola from Trader Joes. Baked at 350 for close to an hour - started checking around 45 minutes. Turned out awesome. Somewhere between a cookie and bread, and very tasty. Not too sweet like a regular cookie Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I won't try this again, sorry! I loved the idea of zucchini and oatmeal in the kids cookies for thier kindergarten party but the cookies were very bland. The only change that I made was to add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Honor Ross
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I was disappointed with these, because they were not GREEN. They also were cakey. I only used 1 cup of chocolate chips instead of 2, and they had plenty. DON'T USE 2 CUPS of CHOCOLATE CHIPS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honor Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie A.
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I made this recipe last year, and I'm making them again this year. Mine turned out really green. It was great. (I didn't add food coloring.) The trick was that I had bought too much zucchini so I was able to just use the skins mainly. (I used the rest of the zucchini another day.) The only down side was after a few days they got a little rubbery in texture but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This is a very good cookie.There were bits of green throughout. I took one reviewer's suggestion and added a little freshly grated nutmeg.The cookies were not so sweet and you could really appreciate the subtle spice.I doubled the batch so I got a little over 4 dozen.But I was only able to take 3 dozen to our bake sale for my husband could'nt stop"testing" them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake

Stout and Irish cream liqueur flavor this dense chocolate cake.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Kitchen Sink Cookies

If you love your cookies loaded up with everything, here’s the cookie for you!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States