St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made this the other day and I thought it turned out ok but my cheesecake loving husband liked it. Mine also fell and I'm not sure why. When I pulled the cheesecake out of the oven it was nice and puffy but then after about 10 minutes it fell and it definitely wasn't as thick as when I poured it in places. I couldn't find candy flavoring anywhere and had to try to use extract and I didn't think it came out very minty after using 1 and 1/8th teaspoons of extract. Another more important note I found out in the middle of making this...Betty Crocker cake mixes don't always come in the 18.25 oz package the recipe called for mine was only 15 oz and the one cup also wasn't enough to cover the top of my cake at all I ended up using another box of cake mix that I had to make the top of the bars. Next time I make this I will cut the recipe back to make a smaller batch and probably cut the cake mix in half so I know I have enough to cover the top of the bars. Oh and I didn't see the dark chocolate and mint chips either but I did happen to find some Andes mint chips that are awesome and I also got a bag of chocolate chips so I could have both chocolate and mint chips and it worked out great. I really like the idea of these bars but to make them work for my family it needs a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Blakely

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Very, very good! Never made cheesecake before & it turned out great. Was a lot easier than I thought cheesecake would be. Loved baking in 9x13 pan instead of spring form. Used peppermint extract & Andes candies. Did not drizzle any chocolate on top. Still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by High Heels
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
made them for our church dinner and they were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Too Yummy, but a little bit really goes a long way. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was a very expensive/labor intensive dessert to make. Not one of my guests were WOWED! In fact, most plates were brought to the sink with half of the dessert untouched. I would "never" make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Great! Only don't say bake until firm, because that's not how cheesecakes are supposed to be baked! They will still be jiggly in the middle, but will stiffen after being chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I made this yesterday for our church fish fry, and have to say that I won't make it again. As someone else said, mine also fell in the middle as it cooled. Taste wasn't bad, but it wasn't great, either. The ingredients are very expensive, probably costing at least $20. I did have to make a couple modifications, as my grocery store didn't carry some of the ingredients. No dark chocolate and mint chips, so I used chopped Andes candies for the topping and sprinkles afterward. Also didn't have the Wilton's creme de menthe flavoring, so used peppermint extract. Otherwise, I made this exactly according to the recipe, including the brands and flavors of cake mix and frosting that was specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
As a cheesecake novice, I learned a few things by making this recipe. #1. Mine also puffed during baking & fell in the refrigerator. I read that this is due to overbeating of the eggs causing a "souffle effect." It didn't affect the texture of the finished product, other than the 4 edges remained raised. Next time I will add the eggs as the last ingredient of the batter so as not to overbeat them. #2. There is an art to cutting cheesecake so that the filling doesn't cling to the knife. Use a very thin, sharp blade (steak knife) and dip it into the hot water often to prevent dragging the filling and making messy edges. #3. My grocery store did not have candy flavoring, so I bought peppermint extract. I used 1 tsp. in the batter. They also did not have mint chocolate chips or even mint chocolate candies (Andes)! So I bought dark chocolate chips & white chocolate chips. I colored the white chips with a drop of green coloring in a plastic bag. They somewhat absorbed the color. Pale green mint chips would've been prettier, but this worked fine. Also because of the lack of mint in the topping, I think the batter could've used more than 1 tsp. of peppermint extract to stand up to the strong cheesecake flavor, maybe 1 1/2 tsp. #4. I cut the squares & arranged them on a plate, & then drizzled melted dark chips from the corner of a bag onto each square individually. This prevented smearing the chocolate onto the pale green filling during cutting. LOVE IT! THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
The ingredients sound like it would be wonderful, but I hated it! Frankly, to my taste, the mint flavored cheesecake is a waste of a perfectly good cheesecake. I actually made it twice, thinking that I had done something wrong. I used creme de menthe the second time, even that didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GourmetGale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Made this but didn't look anything like the picture, but still good, mine hardly showed any of the green filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States