St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Too Yummy, but a little bit really goes a long way. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was a very expensive/labor intensive dessert to make. Not one of my guests were WOWED! In fact, most plates were brought to the sink with half of the dessert untouched. I would "never" make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Great! Only don't say bake until firm, because that's not how cheesecakes are supposed to be baked! They will still be jiggly in the middle, but will stiffen after being chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I made this yesterday for our church fish fry, and have to say that I won't make it again. As someone else said, mine also fell in the middle as it cooled. Taste wasn't bad, but it wasn't great, either. The ingredients are very expensive, probably costing at least $20. I did have to make a couple modifications, as my grocery store didn't carry some of the ingredients. No dark chocolate and mint chips, so I used chopped Andes candies for the topping and sprinkles afterward. Also didn't have the Wilton's creme de menthe flavoring, so used peppermint extract. Otherwise, I made this exactly according to the recipe, including the brands and flavors of cake mix and frosting that was specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
As a cheesecake novice, I learned a few things by making this recipe. #1. Mine also puffed during baking & fell in the refrigerator. I read that this is due to overbeating of the eggs causing a "souffle effect." It didn't affect the texture of the finished product, other than the 4 edges remained raised. Next time I will add the eggs as the last ingredient of the batter so as not to overbeat them. #2. There is an art to cutting cheesecake so that the filling doesn't cling to the knife. Use a very thin, sharp blade (steak knife) and dip it into the hot water often to prevent dragging the filling and making messy edges. #3. My grocery store did not have candy flavoring, so I bought peppermint extract. I used 1 tsp. in the batter. They also did not have mint chocolate chips or even mint chocolate candies (Andes)! So I bought dark chocolate chips & white chocolate chips. I colored the white chips with a drop of green coloring in a plastic bag. They somewhat absorbed the color. Pale green mint chips would've been prettier, but this worked fine. Also because of the lack of mint in the topping, I think the batter could've used more than 1 tsp. of peppermint extract to stand up to the strong cheesecake flavor, maybe 1 1/2 tsp. #4. I cut the squares & arranged them on a plate, & then drizzled melted dark chips from the corner of a bag onto each square individually. This prevented smearing the chocolate onto the pale green filling during cutting. LOVE IT! THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
The ingredients sound like it would be wonderful, but I hated it! Frankly, to my taste, the mint flavored cheesecake is a waste of a perfectly good cheesecake. I actually made it twice, thinking that I had done something wrong. I used creme de menthe the second time, even that didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GourmetGale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Made this but didn't look anything like the picture, but still good, mine hardly showed any of the green filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
These are sinfully good! Thank you so much for sharing. I goofed the first time I made these and forgot to reserve some of the crust for the topping. I had some leftover thin mint girl scout cookies so I crushed a bunch of those for the topping and mixed with the amount of butter called for in the recipe and yum!!! I also used crushed Andes mints to garnish and melted milk chocolate chips to drizzle over the top. My fiance and I ate them after the 2 hour refiregeration like the recipe called for, and they didnt taste that great. I would suggest letting them completely chill over night before eating because it made a huge difference in the taste and then we couldn't stop eating them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
so yummy!!! Thank you SO MUCH for sharing this recipe! my husband and I both LOVE mint chocolate and cheesecake... This recipe is the BEST CHEESECAKE I HAVE EVER MADE!! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! ps- this is something i could get fat off of and die happy eating! thanks a million!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loriMoran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Not worth the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States