St. Louis Toasted Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
This was a great recipe my family loved it. It takes a little time to fry them so I spread foil on a cookie sheet covered it with a tablespoon of oil breaded the ravioli's and baked them at 350 for about 20 minutes Yummy! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
While this tastes okay, it's absolutely NOT like the traditional St. Louis toasted ravioli, and shouldn't be called by that name! St. Louis toasted ravioli is not cheese filled, it's stuffed full with seasoned beef! The real stuff is much much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
These are so great. I like to use meat ravioli from the refriderated section. I have also baked them in an attempt to make them healthier. They turn out okay if you bake on a rack. Bread them per the recipe then spray lightly with cooking spray. I cook in the oven for about 30 minutes at 350 or until they are toasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
This recipe was AWESOME and so easy to make. I used 1/2 cheese ravioli and 1/2 meat ravioli and we can't decide which we liked better. I put the breadcrumbs in a bag and mixed the raviolis in there - made the job go much quicker. Thanks, Barb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
These were great! I added an extra egg to make the "wash" a little thicker and fried them in my fry daddy which took only seconds to cook. I took the suggestion of another reviewer and cooked them frozen. (great idea) Hubby wasn't interested and wanted a burger instead, but when he saw the kids eating them he asked to taste "one". One turned into many and with the addition of a salad he was no longer interested in his burger! Thanks, Barb; I'll definitely be using these as an appetizer at my next party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
This was an outstanding dish!!! I followed the advice and kept the ravioli frozen and after I breaded the raviolis I put them in the freezer for 15 minutes, then layered them (one layer at a time)in my deep fryer on 350 for about 1 minute. I served them with gnocchis and a salad for dinner and they were a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
Super fast and easy, especially if you put the Ravioli and bread crumb in a ziploc to coat. Oh, I almost forgot, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
How can you not like these. I am from St. Louis, and am so glad that these are from my hometown. Hubby has co-workers from Seattle that just love this stuff. Hard to imagine that you can't get these on a reglar basis everywhere. Thanks again for the reminder of this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
Just a note.. as a St. Louisan who worked at a popular restaurant there.. it is much easier if you leave the raviolis frozen when you soak and bread them. Then freeze the breading on and fry them frozen.. it is much more user friendly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2000
This is a variation of one of the best methods of cooking ravioli and it is unique to St. Louis. You gotta try it. Just try brushing the ravioli in egg white wash and then bread crumbs. And try condensed milk instead of regular milk. But try it. This is a great dish but use a good ravioli or make you own cheese or beef ravioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

St. Louis Toasted Ravioli

Breaded ravioli are fried and served with marinara sauce.

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States