St. Louis Toasted Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I made these as a party appetizer and they were a HIT! I have to admit, I par-boiled them b/c it seems they would have been very tough had I not. After boiling, I laid out on a sheet pan so they weren't touching and refrigerated until cool. I also dredged lightly in flour before egg and breadcrumbs. It really makes a nice crust. I'm glad I did these extra steps, b/c I would have been disappointed if they came out any differently than they did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Chicago, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Added some seasoned ground beef to the spaghetti sauce... YUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tayamid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I've never made toasted ravioli before, but I've eaten plenty of them at restaurants and at the fair. This recipe was so simple and they tasted just like the ones I've spent tons of money on! I completely forgot to sprinkle them with Parmesan cheese after frying, but they still tasted fantastic dipped in Four Cheese spaghetti sauce. I doubled the recipe, but even with 24 large raviolis, we didn't use even close to 16 ounces of spaghetti sauce. I recommend pouring a small amount of sauce into a dipping bowl and refilling it as needed. That way the extra sauce can be saved for another use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Good, but hard on the teeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LareinaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saegertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Friendsville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I LOVE these! Very easy in the Fry Daddy, they go quickly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wauseon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
My husband took a bite then asked what I had done to the pasta. He then struggled his way through the rest of the dish, and once finished, he asked me not to make it again. Not a good review from him at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Gave it a try. Maybe we just aren't crazy about toasted ravioli. Probably won't make again. Kids didn't even like it much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Oh man, these are GOOD. I've never made (or even eaten) toasted ravioli before, but these were easy to make and so delicious. I used skim milk instead of whole and didn't bother thawing the ravioli. I found that it's important to make sure the ravioli are only getting a thin coating of the egg mixture; if too much egg falls into the bread crumbs, they'll clump and become pretty much unusable. I'll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
We also used beef ravioli, plain breadcrumbs (added our own seasonings) and withheld the milk. And they turned out pretty good. I hate frying stuff,but am leary of baking! Dont know if theyd turn out as crispy baking as they did frying. Am making them again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Was not as good as I was expecting. I didnt fry though, I tried baking instead as a healthier option. Will prob fry next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Louis Toasted Ravioli

Breaded ravioli are fried and served with marinara sauce.

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States