St. Louis Toasted Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
PARTY PLEASER! They're an awesome little toasty finger food for parties or guests. I can't wait for BBQ season to start and I can toss these out on the table while we grill up some steaks and sausages. I have made these several times since, and will continue making them. I keep frozen ravioli on hand for just such a need. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzieQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cookstown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
my boyfriend is from the st louis area and missed these very much after moving. he likes them best when made with meat ravioli, so i used those. the recipe itself was perfect, the only part we didn't like was the flavor of the meat filling of the frozen ravioli i used. now if i could just find a great recipe for meat ravioli...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I used evaporated milk to dip these in, as I was out of both whole milk and eggs. It worked fine. I also baked these in a 375 oven for 20 minutes. My 6 year old gobbled these up so fast I thought I was going to have to make another batch for everyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Pain to make but worth it~~~!! My husbands hasn't given me a 10!!!! on a new recipe in a while!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Glen Truesdel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Excellent. I could not stop eating the ravioli and I don't even like ravioli. I used great value beef ravioli from w**lmart, progresso italian bread crumbs and classico tomato & basil sauce. I actually dipped my ravioli in the sauce instead of pouring it over the ravioli. The taste reminds me of sausage pizza and I had a salad on the side. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
The concept of this was much better than the actual result. I think it's because I used a poor quality store bought pasta. I used Buitoni, and the pasta was rubbery and dry. Ugh. The coating was delicious, though, so I would be willing to give it another try, but with much better pasta. I used my homemade marinara sauce as a dip instead of jarred spaghetti sauce, and added some garlic powder to the coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This is a great recipe. I too am from St. Louis and have grown up with toasted ravioli. I followed others' suggestions and baked rather than fried and worked out nicely. Covered cookie sheet with foil, oiled it, and baked at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes. This was just easier and healthier than deep frying. As an aside, if you ever have a chance to get Mama Toscano raviolis in St. Louis they are too die for. They are offered in some of the restaurants and sold in the italian grocery stores. You can order online as well. They are pricey but just incredible. The have both regular and toasties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
As a St. Louis native, I know good toasted ravioli! You can't find it where I live, so I was pleased to come across this. I made it for a gathering and everyone raved. Meat filled ravioli is hard to find here, but the cheese was good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AudraN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I LOVED this recipe. The family LOVED this recipe. It was fast, easy to make, and absolutely delicious. 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
a St Louis classic - these came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

St. Louis Toasted Ravioli

Breaded ravioli are fried and served with marinara sauce.

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States