St. Louis Pork Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I marinated these for 24 hours and then, as others mentioned, I slightly grilled them and then put them in the crock-pot for about 2 hours. I don't know how St. Louis grilled steaks are supposed to taste, but these were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Loved it, loved it, loved it. Perfect on a winter night when you don't want something so heavy it will stuff you, and you are watching your calories. Grilled on my daughter's George Foreman grill, served with a side of pan-fried potatoes, and garlic-buttered greenbeans. PS--the apple cider vinegar gives that BBQ-like sensation. Use a good season salt and a quality vinegar to get the perfect blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Love this recipe! I've had bbq all over the states and St. Louis is my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
O, wow... this was amazing. I did tweak the seasonings a bit, adding liquid smoke, garlic and onion powders. Only had 2 steaks, made about 1 cup marinade, basted every couple of minutes... PERFECT. This marinade/basting liquid also works famously on chicken. Suspect the only thing it ISN'T good on is ice cream, but at 33 weeks pregnant, even I'm known to experiment! Thanks for such a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Oh my YUM. I am from St. Louis and I have missed these pork steaks. I lost my recipe for these a while back...and thank goodness someone else posted this. You don't really need all that basting liquid unless your family likes to slather it on after it has been cooked. Thanks for the post. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Just wondering - Why would I need 3-1/2 cups of liquid to baste 5 pork steaks?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Well, I don't know from St Louis or Chicago, but this recipe is fantastic. The meat was tender and moist. I actually added some of the "sauce" to the veggies I was sauteing. Marcus, you turned me on to a whole new flavor/style of cooking. Love it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Ibbotson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This recipe was a nice change from the same bbq pork steaks I usually make. I did make a couple changes - I mixed a 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar with 1/4 cup Woodchuck's Hard Apple Cider and basted the entire time it was on the grill. I LOVE vinegar, so to me, these were perfect. My husband said he couldn't taste anything and they were pretty plain. If I did this again, I would probably add some extra seasoning (other than the salt and pepper this recipe called for).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Needed a lot of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla Hoffman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Good, finished cooking these in the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

St. Louis Toasted Ravioli

Breaded ravioli are fried and served with marinara sauce.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Firehouse Pork Steaks

Watch the firefighters of Mt. Pleasant prepare cheesy pork steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States