St. Louis Pork Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Just wondering - Why would I need 3-1/2 cups of liquid to baste 5 pork steaks?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
I tried this the frist day I read it. It turned out good, but I did make a few changes. First, I didn't use nearly as much basting liquid as stated, only about a cup. I addition to the salt & pepper, I used a little onion and garlic powder. Also, I added a few drops of liquid smoke to the liquid, perfect! It was very moist from the low heat, and very flavorful. This recipe gave a good start to what can be a very delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZINOHIO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
As a St Louisan who makes porksteaks in a totally different way, I thouht I'd try these and they were great! Didn't quite need all the basting sauce, but I used quite a bit, as I basted numerous times in the first 15 minutes of cooking. Thanks for a new variety of what we already love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
I really don't know how to rate this since I've never tasted St. Louis Chops. All I can say is that they came out terrifically moist but had no special flavor to them. I served this with corn, applesauce (thank goodness - needed to dip the pork into it) and Betty Crocker Au Gratin potatoes. The entire meal was prepared and cooked in under 30 min. We like vinegar so I guess we missed the taste - if I ever make it again I think I'll serve it with french fries and sprinkle them with salt and cidar vinegar like the English do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
this was the BOMB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Oh my YUM. I am from St. Louis and I have missed these pork steaks. I lost my recipe for these a while back...and thank goodness someone else posted this. You don't really need all that basting liquid unless your family likes to slather it on after it has been cooked. Thanks for the post. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
This is hardly authentic St. Louis BBQ. Carolina BBQ uses vinegar--never St. Louis. St. Louis would use beer over vinegar. It may be good, but it nees to be renamed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
A neat change from the usual BBQ chops. I added a few drops of liquid smoke, as recommended by another reviewer, and about 1/4 cup of scallions (green onions)for a bit of extra flavor. I soaked the chops for about two hours in the marinade. If you like vinegar you will like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Not bad. I combined the ingredients and used it as a marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I did everything the recipe said, and it still tasted like plain pork chops. Boring and disappointing. I think the vinegar may have actually dried out the chops more than if I would have left them out. Too bad :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Louis Toasted Ravioli

Breaded ravioli are fried and served with marinara sauce.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States