St. Louis Pork Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I'm from St.Louie also not really into the vinager thing I sear on bothsides then baste with favorite bbq sauce and stack steaks on cool part of grill.keep basting and atlernating stack for about an hour the juices run down the stacktenderizing underneith.really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I marinated these for 24 hours and then, as others mentioned, I slightly grilled them and then put them in the crock-pot for about 2 hours. I don't know how St. Louis grilled steaks are supposed to taste, but these were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
While this recipe is good, The Old St. Louis South Side way is to partially grill the porksteaks then transfer to a beer and bbq sauce. Simmer till the meat comes off the bone. Porksteaks can be tought otherwise Our family has prepared porksteaks this way for 3 generations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
From St. Louis and I agree beer must be used. Suggestion: I grill only long enough for flavor,get cooking started and to seer the meat. Then remove steaks and submerge in bbq sauce in a pirex dish, place in oven at low temp and let them cook out very slowly, several hours. Bbq sauce will cook in and the meat will fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Fast and easy in case you did not plan this in advance. The steak has a great taste to it and I am in and out of the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Mayer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
O, wow... this was amazing. I did tweak the seasonings a bit, adding liquid smoke, garlic and onion powders. Only had 2 steaks, made about 1 cup marinade, basted every couple of minutes... PERFECT. This marinade/basting liquid also works famously on chicken. Suspect the only thing it ISN'T good on is ice cream, but at 33 weeks pregnant, even I'm known to experiment! Thanks for such a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I did everything the recipe said, and it still tasted like plain pork chops. Boring and disappointing. I think the vinegar may have actually dried out the chops more than if I would have left them out. Too bad :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Not bad. I combined the ingredients and used it as a marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
A neat change from the usual BBQ chops. I added a few drops of liquid smoke, as recommended by another reviewer, and about 1/4 cup of scallions (green onions)for a bit of extra flavor. I soaked the chops for about two hours in the marinade. If you like vinegar you will like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
This is hardly authentic St. Louis BBQ. Carolina BBQ uses vinegar--never St. Louis. St. Louis would use beer over vinegar. It may be good, but it nees to be renamed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

St. Louis Toasted Ravioli

Breaded ravioli are fried and served with marinara sauce.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Firehouse Pork Steaks

Watch the firefighters of Mt. Pleasant prepare cheesy pork steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States