St. Louis Pork Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
These came out good. The flavor of the vinegar was barely noticeable. I think next time I may let them sit in the vinegar and water mixture to marinate. It was a great fast and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This recipe was a nice change from the same bbq pork steaks I usually make. I did make a couple changes - I mixed a 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar with 1/4 cup Woodchuck's Hard Apple Cider and basted the entire time it was on the grill. I LOVE vinegar, so to me, these were perfect. My husband said he couldn't taste anything and they were pretty plain. If I did this again, I would probably add some extra seasoning (other than the salt and pepper this recipe called for).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Needed a lot of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla Hoffman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Good, finished cooking these in the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Well, I don't know from St Louis or Chicago, but this recipe is fantastic. The meat was tender and moist. I actually added some of the "sauce" to the veggies I was sauteing. Marcus, you turned me on to a whole new flavor/style of cooking. Love it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Ibbotson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Love this recipe! I've had bbq all over the states and St. Louis is my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Good enough BBQ but definitely not St. Louis. St. Louis does not do the vinegar thing. St. Louis BBQ is sweet, spicy with a little bit of kick and endless quantities of BBQ sauce. Think MAULLS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Loved it, loved it, loved it. Perfect on a winter night when you don't want something so heavy it will stuff you, and you are watching your calories. Grilled on my daughter's George Foreman grill, served with a side of pan-fried potatoes, and garlic-buttered greenbeans. PS--the apple cider vinegar gives that BBQ-like sensation. Use a good season salt and a quality vinegar to get the perfect blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Oh, I was really hoping this was going to be a good receipe. I followed the direction as stated and all we could taste was vinegar. Tried saving it with BBQ sauce without any luck. Unless you love vinegar-flavored meat, pass on this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I'm also from St. Louis and love these!The vinegar thing is the key. We boil ours in vinegar first and they get so tender and juicy, then we throw them on the grill to finish them off. AWESOME! Lived in NC for several years and St. Louis BBQ is the real deal. That NC stuff is just shredded meat in vinegar. They don't even grill it! It's not BBQ, it's blasphemy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

St. Louis Toasted Ravioli

Breaded ravioli are fried and served with marinara sauce.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Firehouse Pork Steaks

Watch the firefighters of Mt. Pleasant prepare cheesy pork steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States