Squaw Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
I was first given this bread as a gift basket item. My son who does not like dark or whole wheat breads just loved it and my friend used to make it for him. When we moved across country she gave the recipe to me. I have mad this recipe since then and everyone who tastes it just loves it. I don't think it is intended to rise to quite double since it is a slightly denser type bread. We just love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Mills River, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
A good bread, worked fine in my bread machine (I always bake in oven though), But it wasn't the dark hearty bread like the ones served in restaurants or the squaw bread I buy at the market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
Just ho-hum. There was not enough salt for the amount of bread that was made. It did not raise very much for me. I'll try other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
While this bread has wonderful flavor, I have made it twice with good and active yeast, but neither time has it risen properly. Since other reviewers don't seem to have had this problem, I'm not sure what I am doing wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
I made half the recipe into 3 mini loaves (in tinfoil loaf pans). I used 1/4 c. ground flax + 1/2 c. whole wheat flour in place of 3/4 c. of all purpose flour (using just 1/2 c. of all purpose). I let the dough rise for well over 2 hours on the first rise and about 2 hours in the loaf pans for the second rise. The loaves rose well, and they taste terrific. I can taste the sweetness of the raisins and the honey, and the bread is really soft (but pretty dense). I really like this recipe, but I think it should be noted that the name is pretty offensive and should probably be changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Delicious. I cut the recipe in half and made one large loaf instead of 2 round ones, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
Excellent bread, Ive made it 3 times and people just rave about it. My favorite bread recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
My husband just loves this bread. He requests it all the time. actually had to buy a long slot toaster so he could fit a whole slice off the round loaf in at once. (cutting it in half didn't do it for him must be)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
I found this bread to be one of the best I have ever made. It makes wonderful toast and mine sliced beautifully for sandwiches, contrary to what another rater said (she probably did not knead the dough enough, which will make it crumbly). I like to leave the raisins a little speckled in the bread - too much processing and they disappear. The sweetness causes the top to become a bit dark, but otherwise I love this bread! It slices well and makes wonderful toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
This bread is a very delicious dark bread. A little different recipe than some I have made, but fun to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States