Squash with Tomato and Feta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was a huge hit at our Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Delicious!! Used one full acorn squash, the entire green pepper, tossed in some extra green onions and probably too much cheese. Used herbed stuffing. I can't wait to make this as a holiday side dish! Next time I will find a way to substitute the heavy cream :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Husband is big squash fan give 2 thumbs up....turns out like a creamy stuffing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zephyr Cove, Nevada, USA
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This recipe is truly amazing! Not only does it use up that acorn squash that you have no clue what to do with, it tastes absolutely amazing with the feta cheese and rosemary! This is a great dish for vegetarians and it appeals to the meat eaters too. A definite must that works throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moxie & mirth
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Felt it was missing something, but the tween liked it, so I will make it again - but add some herbs or heat or salt or something. To me it just tasted like slightly sweet soggy bread....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I agree that this is a great variation on the old standard brown-sugar-and-cinnamon-and-butter squash recipes. I used half a red and half a green bell pepper, which made it even prettier. I used halved cherry tomatoes on the top and used more feta cheese. My boyfriend said he wished there was more squash, though, so next time I will use even more acorn squash. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elmchenry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rising Sun, Maryland, USA
Living In: Williamsfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
It's nice to find something different to do with squash. This was quite delicious and we will be making this again. I made it a little healthier by using crushed corn flakes instead of bread crumbs and evaporated milk in place of the heavy cream. I also added steamed zucchini with the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Very tasty... savory rather than sweet. My family love simple baked squash with butter, but get tired of the same dishes. I did not have the stuffing mix or green onions, so I used bread crumbs and poultry seasoning with finely chopped onion. Since I was grilling chicken, I put it in a greased cast iron skillet and set it on the grill beside the chicken. It worked great! My husband still prefers it baked with butter, but this recipes gives the rest of us some variety. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Heltonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was so much better than we expected and my husband wants more! I used 4 green onions and about 3/4 of a green pepper (I didn't measure it after it was chopped). I also softened the squash in the microwave for 9 minutes before I cubed it & mashed it instead of steaming it on the stove. We were out of tomatoes, so we made it without those & it wasn't too bland. I did omit the breadcrumbs because of the comments about it seeming dry, but next time I will try it with buttered cracker or bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms Wendalyn
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This was delicious. I used a whole butternut squash as that's what I had on hand and doubled the recipe. I cut it in half and baked it face side down for 1 hr at 375 so I could easily scoop out the squash without having to peel. Instead of green onions, I used a yellow one. And, instead of Roma tomatoes, I used grape tomatoes cut in half. I did not use the rosemary but did add a pinch of oregano and basil to the mixture. I used more feta cheese than it called for but am planning on using even more (3.5 oz) next time around. I also substituted the heavy cream for nonfat milk to make it lighter. My boyfriend, who's my toughest critic, came back for more despite not being a huge fan of butternut squash. The 12 servings are almost gone now. This recipe is one that I will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Wendalyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States