Squash Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
My kids said this was okay, it really isn't a stuffing recipe, more like a wet casserole. I thought it would be great to use, with some free squash that I was gifted, since I have girls that flip over squash. Having said that, there is too much "cheese food" that over powers the stuffing mix and squash, from what my oldest said. She asked I make it again, but with out the cheese food. She said everything gets lost in taste and the cheese stood out and nothing really else, quoted from my little squash expert. In my opinion, it would probably be best if the ingredients were all combined and baked rather then layering, because the soup sits on the squash and onions and doesn't go anywhere. I'll make this again with tweaks and adjustments because my girls asked me to, but preferably not something I'd make again as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Made this without the cheese and butter. Came out just fine! Make sure to cover with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
My husband doesn't like squash, but I decided to keep looking for a recipe with squash that he would like the taste of it. This is it! He really liked this!! I added melted cheese to the top in the last few minutes of baking as well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Out of necessity and use of leftovers, I made a number of changes. The outcome was really tasty. I had julienned zucchini and yellow squash leftover from a stir-fry. (The mandoline rocks!) I cut them up in 1 inch pieces and used about 3 cups. Sauteed the onions before adding. Also, only had half the processed cheese food called for in the recipe, so I put that in the middle layer, then topped the casserole with smoked gouda. Also used leftover cooked stuffing for the bottom layer and did not have enough for the top cover so I just used Progresso bread crumbs. Substituted chicken broth for the water and left out the butter. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I found this recipe very easy to make. My husband just loved the dish. He has asked for it 3 weeks straight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
Very good! I left out the cheese and only had reduced fat cream of mushroom soup but it came out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
Since we watch our calories, I compromised and omitted the cheese. We loved it. My European husband, who is just becoming accustomed to American dishes, asked for it a second time. That review compared to his sometimes comments of "It tasted good, but I'd like it maybe once every two years." He is a model of tact!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharpsburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
I skipped one little word-- "cover"-- and it didn't work right. Make sure you cover the dish before baking!! Otherwise it will take forever for the squash, onions (and my added celery) to the cook. Overall it is a tasty but very rich dish. It might be too rich for kids. Next time I will cut back on the cheese. This is going to be a wonderful sidedish at the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZMIKCOWGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States