Squash Stuffed Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I altered this recipe a lot, but it ended up being delicious, it was a lot trouble to make in a small kitchen, hence the 4 stars. I couldn't cut my acorn squash, so I parboiled it and removed the flesh from the rind. I also layered the bottom of the baking dish with mushrooms and I added ground ginger and fresh rosemary to the flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This was just okay. It took forever to chop up the acorn squash, and when I saw I only needed 1/2 a cup I felt super frustrated. Of course, I only used 2 breasts, so I went ahead and used the full squash and onion and green pepper (no celery because mine was dead) and just piled it all on top of the chicken. I decided to coat the chicken with flour and brown it...then I pounded it flat and rolled it up with some of the stuffing inside (secured with rouladen pins). Again, then I piled the rest of the veggies/cheese on top. I cooked about 20 minutes (covered). I loved the soft, moist texture of the chicken and the fresh and cheesy flavor, but my husband didn't think it had enough flavor-maybe if I used some kind of marinade before browning the chicken?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This was amazing! My family LOVED it. I did make a few adjustments: 1. Traded out the cheddar cheese for pepper jack. 2. Used summer squash as they are in season and tasting fabulous. 3. Pounded the breasts flat and rolled the stuffing inside. 4. Used baking mix (Bisquick) instead of flour. I am planning on making the stuffing as a side to go with grilled chicken as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WBM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This is a great recipe. Loved it and so did my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petunialuvur
Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Delicious! I added zucchini and mushrooms and omitted celery. I also used red pepper, jack/cheddar cheese, and Italian bread crumbs based on others recommendations. Chicken is so juicy and tasted even better the next day at lunch! I served it with yellow rice which is a nice compliment I think. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
this was a big hit at my house.The only thing I did different was more of the stuffing.I made extra and placed around the chicken in my pan.My 4 yr old does not like onions bell pepper or celery but he at all of his.I think it being cut up so fine helped in that area.My MIL liked it too and she is picky.Will make again for sure but I think just to save a little extra work I will just layer the chicken and stuffing instead of actually stuffing the chicken next time.With a 4 yr old and a 5mth old it seemed I was constantly having to stop and wash my hands to do for them while I was in the messy stuffing the chicken stage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof1sweetboy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Supply, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is very tasty. Instead of stuffing the chicken breast, I put the stuffing on the bottom of a casserole dish and the chicken on top. Baked uncovered. I also did not use cheddar cheese. I sprinkled feta on after cooking. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I really liked this recipe. We skipped the celery and added crushed almonds, rosemary, and subbed mozerella for cheddar. Great falltime meal and good leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
The stuffing was excellent but the chicken itself a bit bland. I am going to try this again but use another reviewer's advice about olive oil and Italian Breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Delicious! Made as written. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States