Squash Stuffed Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
This was wonderful. My chicken breasts were not very thick so instead of stuffing them, I pounded the breasts flat, spread the filling on and rolled them up. Toothpicks held them together just fine while I browned them. I think next time I make this, I am going to just make a big pan of the stuffing and top it with the browned chicken breasts. I loved this stuffing and wanted more then the breasts held. I seasoned the stuffing with a little poultry seasoning.. delish. I also left out the cheese because I forgot to buy some. I'll be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I tried this last nite - but cut ingredients in half ~ also using 4 chicken breasts. (Fits WeightWatchers requirements for 8 points!) It was awesome. I can't believe how moist they were. Added another point for browning breasts in oil after coating them with flour (how else were you supposed to brown them?) You need to finely chop veggies. I used the 4 oz. individually packaged breasts. Use them partially frozen for easier slitting. So, so good:) Fast forward to summertime: Made them again last night. Breasts were thawed already so when I found that I couldn't cut a pocket in them, I layered the bottom of the dish with the filling, layed the browned breasts on top, covered and baked for 30 mins! Easy, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Fantastic recipe overall! I didn't use the cheese because I thought it might overpower the dish. To keep the chicken moist, I added some olive oil to the bottom of the baking pan and covered it in aluminum foil, which worked wonderfully. Stuffing the chicken was a bit difficult, but certainly worthwhile because it tasted great. I also put the extra stuffing on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Very good. Made a few small changes: 1)used red bell pepper instead of green 2) used chedder/jack cheese mix 3) Brushed each breast w/oilve oil and dredged in whole wheat italian seasoned bread crumbs instead of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
I used left over spagetti squash instead of the acorn squash and the result was fabulous. It was elegant enough to serve to guest, yet easy enough to make for a family dinner. It tasted great!! We will definitely have this at our house again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
this recipe was wonderful. I'd recommend using seam pins to hold the breasts closed while browning but other than that it was easy and totally yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minco, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
My husband and I love this dish! It's easy to make, but has a gourmet taste. I used zucchini, since the acorn squash was too hard to chop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
I have made this recipe twice and it's been wonderful both times. I used zucchinni and yellow squash instead of carrots and celery. Also, changing the cheese really changes the taste. I've used Montery Jack/Cheddar mix. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATESCISCIO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is very tasty. Instead of stuffing the chicken breast, I put the stuffing on the bottom of a casserole dish and the chicken on top. Baked uncovered. I also did not use cheddar cheese. I sprinkled feta on after cooking. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
Excellent!! It took a little bit of extra work to chop everything up so fine and to stuff but it was so worth it!!! My husband loved it and will not stop talking about it!! This recipe is definetly a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essex, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States