Squash Stuff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Well this was quite enjoyable. I did reduce the seasoned salt and pepper to 1 tsp and I added 2 tsp of Italian seasoning and 1 tsp garlic salt. Still plenty peppery for me. I only had a 15 oz can of crushed tomato, so I added an 8 oz can of tomato sauce as well. The potatoes need about 30 minutes to cook. As promised, great with cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Made on July 8, 2011
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Delicious! I added Italian Seasoning, left out the potatoes and added onion and green beans. From a husband who thinks, "Not Bad" is a compliment, he raved over and over about how "Delicious" this is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ucon, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
After reading all of the reviews, I decided to give this recipe a try and take the reviewers' suggestions of adding some seasoning. I added a medium onion, some garlic and some Italian seasonings. My family enjoyed this recipe. We had some nice crusty bread with it and served it in bowls. It was good, but not our favorite. Nice for a cold evening. Easy clean up since it was all made in one large pot on the stove. Our family of 6 enjoyed it with some left for tomorrow's lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I didn't think this was going to taste very good with only salt & pepper seasoning. Although all of the incredients blended together and it was really good. Even better as leftovers. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Great recipe! I altered slightly by sauteing onion and garlic in a skillet prior to browning ground turkey. Like some others, I used Rotel for the diced tomatoes and really loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I read some reviews before I started this recipe and added onion, garlic, 1 tsp. Italian seasoning, reduced pepper to 1 tsp. and cooked it in a stove-top dutch oven, however after simmering and stirring almost constantly for over 2 hours to keep it from burning on the bottom, my small cubed potatoes were still little stones and the mixture had all cooked down to a thick paste (read "hearty stew"!). I finally resorted to fishing them all out and put them into a microwave dish with some liquid and cooked them for 3 minutes just so we could eat before midnight! However the taste is worth the wait although a bit bland but next time I will precook the potatoes until almost tender and then add. I think I will bump up the pepper but not to 1 Tbsp. and see what else I can spice it up with. I also made corn muffins as suggested which were a fine addition to the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I gave this a try to use up a lot of veggies I had on hand from this week's organic co-op harvest, and was surprised at how delicious it was, with a few modifications: * I used ground turkey instead of beef, just because that's what I had on hand. In retrospect, this would be even more delicious made with Italian sausage instead. * I cooked chopped onions and garlic in with the ground turkey. * I had to use up a bunch of organic tomatoes, so I threw one large one in the blender with some rosemary, basil, and oregano (to make the "canned" pureed tomatoes), in addition to dicing a couple more. * I added some chili powder to everything as it cooked. * At the last minute, I decided to throw in a bit of goat cheese and a can of cannelini beans... I wasn't sure if this would improve the dish or ruin it, but they both turned out to be DELICIOUS additions. The end result was mouthwatering... five stars and beyond with these modifications. My husband normally doesn't care for this type of "one-dish meal," but he raved about it and went back for seconds. My puppies were crying for it the entire time it cooked! As some others mentioned, it took much longer than 20 minutes for the potatoes to cook... I think I cooked the entire thing for 40 or 45 minutes on low. Definitely worth the wait, but I wish I'd started earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I cooked my meat with onion and I added a can of rotel and a can of green chilis and a little cumin for a mexican taste. it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Dill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
My whole family LOVED this dish. I did, however, make a few changes. I used 1 1/2 lbs. ground beef, used half of the called for pepper, added a 15 oz can of tomato sauce, added 1 Tbsp. Italian seasoning, added 1/2 tsp. minced garlic, and used two 14.5 oz cans Italian diced tomatoes. I didn't have to add any water to cover all the vegetables. i had to use a Dutch oven because this recipe makes A LOT. It also took considerably longer than 20 minutes for the potatoes to cook (probably need to cut them smaller next time). Served with cornbread and every raved about it and asked me to definitely make this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States