Squash Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I give this recipe a 5 for being really good base recipe! I'm Bahamian so the spices were just fine with me. I did cut back on the chili powder to one tablespoon and added an Indian spice called garam marsala just for fun.I softened the squash, by warming it in the oven for a few minutes. I then scooped out the squash and added it to the stew. I also added my own vegetables in addition to the ones stated in the recipe.I used canned diced tomatoes and bottled lemon juice. I sauteed napa cabbage with onions and a diced zucchini squash that I had on hand.I also added sliced bok choy,(just because I could) and diced potatoes.The cinnamon,ground cumin,garlic and other spices really blended well with the mild sweetness of the squash. I served this with warmed wheat pita bread on the side. Results: A hearty,chunky vegetable stew that my meat and potatoes hubby really loved!! I will be using this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blestlola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
We loved this recipe! I partially cooked my squash in the microwave. I used canned kidney beans, drained. Bottled lemon juice, and ground cumin instead of seeds. The rest of the recipe I followed. Very tasty, easy to double, great freezer meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I was hesitant to make this at first, but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I was really excited to try this recipe, and have to say it was a let down. I used fresh tomatoes, canned pintos, and only 1 tsp of chili powder (based on other reviews). I also baked the squash for 20 minutes prior to adding it to the stew. While I appreciated the smell of the cinnamon and cumin sauteed with the onion and garlic, the final flavors did not come through. It has almost a sour taste, and is a little bland. I served it over rice with grilled tortillas, and added some Sriracha hot sauce (which makes everything better), but it's just not that great. I think I might try it with potatoes next time (the squash was stringy), and maybe add more salt to counteract that sour undertone. I will also use canned tomatoes, as I feel all that work to peel, seed, and dice was not really worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kyllburg, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Thank you for this easy recipe. After sauteeing the first 7 ingredients as written, I put everything in a slow cooker for the day. This preparation made for a really thick texture, not remotely 'soupy'. Since I did not have the beans on hand I used chickpeas. I felt the amount of chili powder was nice (our family likes spice). Also to make it faster, I used our Vita-mix blender for the tomatoes so I did not have to peel or deseed them. Instead of pita bread I served over some quinoa to add more protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Quick, easy and delicious! This saved me when I found myself part way through a different squash recipe without the necessary ingredients. I've read a few reviews that said this was too spicy... I didn't find it spicy at all. Just a warm and hearty Autumn stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Not a big fan of this recipe. I didn't like the cinnamon in the stew and I found i don't really care for acorn squash. It is a pain to peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was easy to prepare and delicious. I added peas, diced yellow potatoes, cabbabe, extra garlic and a splash of Tapatio. It came out tasting similar to some of the dishes I've tried at African and Ethiopian restaurants. Cannot wait to make this again. And I don't even like squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Delicious! Followed the recipe verbatim, worked out perfectly. My whole house smelled amazing while it cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I didn't find this "spicy hot" at all. It seemed like a stew not able to make up its mind what it wanted to be: Indian? Southwestern? chili? salsa? The flavors all blended together. Perhaps adding ingredients at more distinct times, or adding the fresh tomato toward the end of cooking, would have made it better. I won't know, though, as I don't plan to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States