Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Launlind
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Easy summer favorite. I 'spiced' it up with a small banana pepper and used chicken stock to cook the squash. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Nice, simple to make, tasty soup. I have a bumper crop of squash from the garden this year, so this recipe is a welcome addition to our menu. I did experiment with it a little and added some chicken stock and cream, used red pepper instead of green pepper, and added some carrots for some additional color and flavor. Since I have way more spaghetti squash then I do yellow squash, I used half and half of each. I also used sharp cheddar instead of Velveeta, and I used 3 cups of cheese instead of 2. Turned out great with a nice cheesy flavor and creamy texture. Great for dipping some fresh warm bread into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K-Slice
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I cooked up the vegetables as written, blended them and then used regular cheese as opposed to the processed cheese as others suggested. I tasted it after adding salt and pepper and felt like it was just mush. I added some garlic powder, paprika, 3/4 cup milk, 1 cup chicken broth and a scallop of Dijon I had lying around. It's much better and will be great on a fall day with some crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Slice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I made this with a lot of my CSA veggies in addition to the ones above. I also used my vitamix which made a beautiful starting puree. I barely had to add any cheese, and personally wanted to add some half and half. It was delicious and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This is flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I have made versions of this recipe before, so I had some fun with it. I used what I had, adding a little fresh corn, chicken stock instead of water, 1 Jalapeno and a small pepper from my garden, mixed in some tomatoes, fresh herbs garlic and soup spices from the pantry. Very good and would pair well with a grilled cheese sandwich. I used lots of different cheeses, including Parmesan. It's so easy to do this soup to your own taste. Pumpkin soup is popular in Australia and that is where I first tried squash in soup. My friend adds some cream to the top a little extra cheese and a side of crusty bread. Oh and one thing she also did was use potatoes as well and just boiled it all together till the right consistency. VERY GOOD! I chose to leave out the extra carbs, but great both ways! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I added broccoli and my pregnant wife LOVED it!!! I will certainly keep this close!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jborck
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I've heard that when you boil vegetables and then drain the water, you lose a lot of the nutritional value of the vegetables, so I boiled the squash, onion, pepper, and a carrot in maybe 1 cup water and let a lot of it boil off. Then I blended what water remained with the vegetables. Added fresh corn from the cob with the cheese- loved the crunch and flavor. This will be a go-to when there is too much squash at the end of the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
The family wasn't sure about this recipe but in the end they really liked it. This soup tasted very similar to the broccoli cheese soup that I make and that the family all loves. I made the recipe exactly as written and will definitely be making again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
A good way to use your squash. I am in love with cream soups, so this soup gave what I wanted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilfoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krasnoyarsk, Krasnoyarsk Krai , Russia
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States