Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I made this with a lot of my CSA veggies in addition to the ones above. I also used my vitamix which made a beautiful starting puree. I barely had to add any cheese, and personally wanted to add some half and half. It was delicious and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This is flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I have made versions of this recipe before, so I had some fun with it. I used what I had, adding a little fresh corn, chicken stock instead of water, 1 Jalapeno and a small pepper from my garden, mixed in some tomatoes, fresh herbs garlic and soup spices from the pantry. Very good and would pair well with a grilled cheese sandwich. I used lots of different cheeses, including Parmesan. It's so easy to do this soup to your own taste. Pumpkin soup is popular in Australia and that is where I first tried squash in soup. My friend adds some cream to the top a little extra cheese and a side of crusty bread. Oh and one thing she also did was use potatoes as well and just boiled it all together till the right consistency. VERY GOOD! I chose to leave out the extra carbs, but great both ways! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I added broccoli and my pregnant wife LOVED it!!! I will certainly keep this close!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jborck
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I've heard that when you boil vegetables and then drain the water, you lose a lot of the nutritional value of the vegetables, so I boiled the squash, onion, pepper, and a carrot in maybe 1 cup water and let a lot of it boil off. Then I blended what water remained with the vegetables. Added fresh corn from the cob with the cheese- loved the crunch and flavor. This will be a go-to when there is too much squash at the end of the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
The family wasn't sure about this recipe but in the end they really liked it. This soup tasted very similar to the broccoli cheese soup that I make and that the family all loves. I made the recipe exactly as written and will definitely be making again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
A good way to use your squash. I am in love with cream soups, so this soup gave what I wanted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilfoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krasnoyarsk, Krasnoyarsk Krai , Russia
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Made it as the recipe is written and it is so bland it will never get eaten. Read the reviews for suggestions how to improve flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Just say make with VELVETA! I'm a guy and I couldn't figure out what 'processed cheese' was so I used regular cheese. Turned out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smnicholson
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This was wonderful, even in the hot July heat of the South. I did pay attention to the suggestions about the cheese. I did part Velveta and part extra sharp cheddar. I also used chicken broth instead of water as I do in most recipes that require water. I used a hand blender to puree the mixture, but left part of the mixture with some whole bits of squash. Who knew squash soup could taste so great. This is a keeper for me and I will freeze some for the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ninety Six, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Newberry, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States