Squash Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by teresa_n_tn
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Made my first batch last night! Missing and substituting a few ingredients; I only used 1/2 of a green bell pepper( that's all I found in the fridge, I was completely out of Red Bell peppers so I found a small jar of diced pimentos (Hey they're sweet red bell peppers so it has to work!) I also had yellow squash as the recipe called for, but I also added Yellow Zucchini from my garden! I also misread the recipe directions( I read it no less than 5 times) at the beginning so my veggie mix sat stewing in their own waters and salt for one whole hour! I then saw my mistake and used a sieve to press out most of the water at the end of the hour, lol It still came out delish! WOW this was a real easy recipe~!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is SO good! I had a giant cucuzza squash that I needed to use up, and found out that people often use them interchangeably with summer squash. I decided to try this recipe, but halved it to see if I liked it first. We LOVED it, and I will probably make more asap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I only cooked the squash 5 minutes. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This was so quick and easy(i used my did processor for the vegis). my fiance and I both love the sweet taste. But can anyone tell me why these say to be refrigerated if they are sealed?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I love this recipe. I made 3 batches last year and just did a double batch for this year. It is great on and in everything. I hand dice all of it because I love the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This is a family favorite! To save time I throw the veggies into the food processer and pulse/chop until they are fairly finely chopped. My recipe calls for turmeric, and I leave out the mustard seed entirely. It's nice as a side as well as a relish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I am giving it 5 stars for the prep work. I just made a batch this afternoon and haven't tasted it but what a easy recipe. I really hope it turns out as yummy as it looks! I am dying to taste it but I know it will need a few weeks for all of the flavors to settle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This relish is by far better than any cucumber relish!! I make this every year and it is the only relish my family wants me to use. I put it in potato salad, tuna salad, chicken salad... anywhere I would normally use pickle relish! The squash actually seem to hold up better and stay firm longer in this relish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I make this every summer with extra veggies from the garden. My family loves it with meats and as a relish for hotdogs. I always add 3 jalapeno peppers for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I made this yesterday and so I haven't had a chance to taste it after it has sat in the can for awhile but the initial taste was wonderful! The perfect ratio of sweet to tangy. The reason I am giving it only four stars though is that is is quite liquidy. I think I will use less vinegar the next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Black Onion Relish

See how to make the perfect condiment for grilling season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States