Squash Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Excellent flavor. Made 4 pies and all were eaten up in no time flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I had purchased a very large Hubbard squash when on the way to getting my vehicle maintained at the distant dealership. The thing was about a foot and a half long and easily over 10 lbs. I cut it in half and roasted half at a time in a 14" cast iron skillet, poked holes through the flesh and smeared it with butter and dark brown sugar. After scraping it out I froze it and divvied it up between various other things and this pie. I used 2 cups of packed roasted hubbard squash for this pie. The squash has better flavor when roasted and not boiled I think. I doubled the "Basic flaky pie crust" recipe here on AllRecipes and then put the crust in a 10" cast iron skillet. The amount of filling was perfect for this size with no leftovers. I too was concerned as the filling is so watery...but it baked up beautifully (it needed a lot more time than just 40 minutes...more like an hour and a half) and it tastes delicious. I substituted brown sugar for all the white and sprinked in just a pinch of cloves because I just like cloves. Thank you for this recipe!! i'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I had left over Danish Squash, I use to make my squash pie. I like my recipes extra spicy,I increased on my spices, I used 1/4 teas allspice, 1/4 teas gr.cloves 1/2 teas gr. Ginger. I made with powdered milk. 2 cups water 1 1/4 dry milk, I warm the milk on the stove. Used 3 extra large eggs.mix it all in the food processor. Pie crust recipe; 1/2 cup Crisco shortening 1/4 teas salt about 1/4 cup cold water. Bake at 400 oven for about 55 min to 60 mins. *Don't understand when people use different ingredients in their recipes the give a lower rating.* I HAD A FRIEND TELL ME ONCE HE LIKE SQUASH PIE BETTER THE PUMPKIN PIE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Photo by hsquared9380
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
So good! Tastes like a creamy, lighter version of chess pie. I followed other reviewer recommendations and doubled the cinnamon and butter but left the salt and nutmeg as is. I omitted ginger as I dislike it. This time I improvised 1 cup French vanilla creamer and 1 cup milk to give more flavor. I plan to use evaporated milk next time but didn't have any on hand. Turned out beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Leo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I used a Lower Salmon River Squash for this pie, though any Winter squash would do. The stronger flavored the squash, the better. This was good. Not spectacular but pretty good. Some tips to make it even better: 1. Double the spices and add a touch of cloves. 2. Use evaporated milk, or what I did, half heavy cream and half milk. 3. Let the pie sit in the refrigerator overnight after you bake it, it's much better the next day served cold. Don't eat it warm, it's just not good when warm. 4. Purée the squash in a blender before adding other ingredients. It's a great way to use up squash, and it's an easy and quick pie to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I substituted 1 8oz pkg Cream Cheese for 1 cup milk and baked my squash. Solved the soft consistency problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana McCullough

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Louie Cudia
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Made this recipe with crooked neck squash. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louie Cudia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Was just making pie crusts with my mom. My dad and I love squash and so I asked my mom what she would think if I made my dad a squash pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Payton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Great way to use squash and much better than pumpkin pie but it has a custard like consistency. I will try it with brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Definitely a keeper. I did cut down the ginger to 1/2 tsp. and increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp. Also, added 1/8 tsp. of cardamom. Put the extra filling into ramakens and they are also fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States