Squash Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Excellent! I used 3/4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice instead of measuring individually, and lightly dusted the top with a little nutmeg. My family loved it! I didn't expect them to even try it because they refuse squash in every other form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This was yummy! The kids actually thought it was pumpkin pie! Great way to get a variety into dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Great recipe. Only change was to put 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and used fresh nutmeg. Move over pumpkin, squash is here to stay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sobieski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Easy to make, mildly sweet and spicy and very tasty! Comes out a beautiful golden color that looks beautiful at your harvest table. I only needed ONE butternut squash, peeled and cubed for this recipe. It made just the right amount and I did not have to throw anything away or save it for something else. My family ate the entire pie for breakfast this morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Marie Sweden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Tasted like a mildly flavored custard pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
I was a little skeptical when I saw how watery the filling was. And like other reviewers, I had enough to make 2 pies. To my surprise, it solidified after baking and turned out ok. It tasted good but its texture was more like squash custard than anything. And yes, my squash custard tasted fine. Perhaps I didn't drain my squash long enough? I make this recipe again (I see squash vines in my backyard again) and will drain my cooked squash longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
My family loved this pie. I used brown sugar instead of white. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
Well, it tried to make it vegen by using hazelnut milk. I should have used Oat which is thicker, the hazelnut was like WATER!!!! Other than that it was fine. I don't know why everyone is like its the best they have ever had. What have they been eating, sand? Its good but not that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: College Park, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Wow! This is a serious threat to the great pumpkin pie. Butternut squash is an incredible alternative to pumpkin. I think both are equal in taste, but it's always good to have a wide variety of foods in your diet, so this is a tasty way to get yet another vegetable into your digestive tract. It has to be good for you, but it tastes "naughty". Yum! I learned an important lesson after making this... so maybe you can keep this in mind when trying this recipe: The quantity of filling this recipe produced was way more than I could possibly fit into one 9-inch pastry crust. In fact, I had so much left over, I filled a second crust and still had a little extra that I poured down the kitchen sink. Now I have two pies in the refrigerator, one full pie and another one partially eaten. Next time I make this, if I only want one pie, then I will cut the ingredients in half. Maybe my pie crusts were more shallow and not as deep as Carol's. I used the Pillsbury 9-inch pie crusts. If you want to make only one pie but you have much more filling left over like I had, be prepared to have 2 pie crusts. If you do not have an extra pie crust, you could freeze the extra in a freezer bag to be used the next time you want to make one pie. It will be easier to make this pie next time if you already have the filling on reserve in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Have made this pie for quite a few years. We always have an abundance of squash so I make pies. They r not quite as strong as pumpkin and a little softer but soooo good. I use skim milk and frutose instead of sugar and skim rather than regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States