Squash Casserole with Crunchy Pecan Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
The best new recipe that I made in 2008..made just as stated and it was great!! Could almost use as a desert!! Have made it 3 or 4 times already and my family keeps on asking for it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Fantastic!!! I usually used frozen squash but never again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I loved this recipe. The contrast of smooth center and crunchy topping were great. The only change I made was I added cinnamon and nutmeg to the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I made this recipe with modifications. I had no half & half, so used 1/2 can of sweetened condensed milk and omitted the white sugar. It was wonderful! The squash seemed a little soupy when I put it in the oven, but it firmed up nicely and became very light and creamy. We loved the crunchy topping, and it was a wonderful side dish with ham this past Easter Sunday. The next time I make it, I might add some pumpkin pie-type spices (cinnamon, clove, ginger) and see how we like it that way. Other than that, I might get some half & half so I can try sticking closer to the original recipe! Overall a great recipe that seems very flexible and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I used butternut squash with this recipe as well. I have used this recipe twice: for Thanksgiving and Christmas. Very easy to prepare, and it was a big hit for even the ones that didn't usually enjoy squash. Depending on the size of the butter nut squash as compared to the normal size of acorn squash, I ended up adjusting the amount of ingredients. For example, the butternut squash I obtained at Thanksgiving was much larger than normal, so for 2 squash I tripled the amount of ingredients. However, the butternut squashed I obtained at Christmas was comparatively smaller, so I doubled the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Cuson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I followed this recipe, with the exception of butternut instead of acorn squash-- use two butternut, three makes too much for the baking dish. This turned out great!! My very picky 5 year old even liked it. The topping would also be good on sweet potatoes. For the last two minutes, I used the broiler to help toast the pecans. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Harvest, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I just made this for Thanksgiving as I've been wanting to try squash recipes. It was such a hit! My husband loved it and I took the dish to a work get together and was asked to pass along the recipe. Kids were a little wary to try it, so you might want to tell them that it's similar to sweet potatoes. Very delicious recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This recipe was sooo delicious!!! I made it for the first time for a family fish fry last weekend and everyone loved it!My husband's mom even wants the recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States