Squash Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2001
I've made this several times for my father with his fresh squash from the garden. He loves it. I've also recommended the recipe to family and friends. I was able to put the whole recipe in a 9 inch pan instead of the 13x9 pan and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Ended up using frozen yellow squash as well as a bag of frozen mixed squash, which included tomato, zucchini and yellow peppers. Used more cheese than called for. My mother loved this and even loved the leftovers more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Just what I was looking for. A squash casserole that I had the ingredients for. It is simple and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I made this for a family gathering and even though I had to substitute wheat club crackers for the butter rounds it turned out really good. Even my teenage daughter who hates squash asked for seconds. Can't wait until my next visit to the farmers market to get more squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I asked my husband what he wanted for Father's day dinner, and he said squash casserole. He's from Arkansas, I'm from New York..so needless to say, I had a "are you kidding me?" moment. Having nothing to compare the taste to, I was reluctant to make it. But then realized I could go to my favorite website and find one that would come close to what Granny used to make. After reading every single recipe,and all the reviews, this one sounded the best. Wow, is all I got to say. I have never had this before. Never even bought squash till yesterday. I thought it was totally amazing. Very very tasty. My 5 yr old even liked it. I followed the recipe exactly as written, but didn't use the whole bunch of onions..(What is a bunch anyway? is it the whole bag,and what if my bunch was bigger than one used in this recipe? would I then be using too much?..yea, I was going nutty.So I knocked it down to half, and it came out awesome. Thanks for a wonderful recipe,and for saving Father's day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holbrook, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
This is the EASIEST Squash Casserole recipe & tastes great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
This recipe is so good. It tastes just like the casserole at Black Eyed Pea! I did do one thing different though - instead of putting the crackers and cheese on top, I mixed them in with the rest of the ingredients and baked, it was sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This was so good. My family loved it. Taste just like the casserole at Black Eyed Pea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Exactly what we were looking for - a simple, classic squash casserole without a lot of unnecessary "frills" that cover up the wonderful flavor of the squash. Great flavors, and we loved the sliced green onions in this! The only cheese I had on hand was provolone, so I used it in place of the cheddar and it was wonderful. This will definitely become a keeper...thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Even my daughter liked this one, and that is saying something! I put some cheese and crackers in the mix as well as on top, because who doesn't like cheese, right? Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States