Squash Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I never made a casserole with squash before this and it was an outstanding dish. Everyone loved it. It was very easy to make and I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Delicious! Prepared as directed. Definitely a keeper. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESTWINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I wanted to like this casserole, but, the flavor just didn't suite our taste. We prefer our squash a little more firm, so, I only boiled the squash about 8 minutes and it was a perfect texture. I also thought a stick of butter would be too greasy for us, so, I reduced the butter to 4 tbsp which was plenty. The problem for us was the sugar. It was too sweet for us. Instead of enhancing the flavor it just seemed an odd combination for our taste. It seemed that most people liked the casserole as is, but, if you prefer a more savory dish like us - I would leave out the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Yummy! A couple of changes: I mixed in the cheese instead of sprinkling on top, and I omitted the crackers. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This was too sweet for my taste...would probably leave out the sugar if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Wow!!! I was surprised at how delicious this recipe is. I mixed in the cheese and omitted the crackers, and it was amazing! I will be making and freezing this dish as my yellow squash comes out of the garden. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrisB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This is THE squash casserole recipe! I use Allrecipes as a 'guide source' and this recipe was right-on-the-nose for egg-milk-squash ratio. I had two quart sized bags of yellow and zucchini and used those. I was out of butter crakers, so used buttered corn flakes. I think the crackers would have been better--the corn flake topping turned-out a little too buttery (yes, there is such a condition!). Great recipe; I will defintely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This was a good way to use up squash, but a bit bland and mushy. I'll make it again when I have another abundance of squash, but will add a liberal aount of seasoning and make it in a shallow pan to balance the crispy top and mushy bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
this recipe is amazing as is, but basic enough to allow your own twist on the dish as well. I did not have Ritz or "butter" crackers so I used the saltines I had on hand. The flavors complimented each other in an amazing way. I may add some grilled chicken to it and have it as the main dish. AWESOME and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilkesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States