Squash Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
If you are a squash lover, this dish is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evieg17

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
I get requests for this recipe everytime I make it. Its made every Thanksgiving and its not hard to make. I use the pepperidge farm dressing instead of the stuffing mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
The adults liked this recipe, but it didn't win over the kids. The casserole was VERY salty, but I did add leftover ham. Perhaps I should not have salted the water for the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Very good casserole, my kids even loved it and they are not squash eaters!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Was very good, but didn't get the peeling, and seeding the squash. I used the regular summer squash, so maybe they were meaning another kind. Followed it the the "T" except for the above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
I found this recipe searching for a way to use leftover grilled pork chops. I diced the pork and put it on top of the bottom layer of stuffing mix, then proceeded with the squash mixture and topping. The result was an easy and delicious main dish! (I also had some leftover new potatoes and added them to the squash mixture- this is a great way to use up leftovers.) I'm definately going to keep this recipe- I think it will be yummy to try with zucchini in the summer as well. I only wish it were a little less fattening. I used Healthy Request -lower sodium and fat- soup and light sour cream, its just all that butter! (mmmm.... butter...) I might try it next time w/o adding butter to the stuffing mix. I don't think one would want to leave the butter out of the squash mash- it helps to give it a very nice silky texture. Bottom line- very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KR
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
Oh so tasty! We have a garden and the squash were piling up on the counter and I had to try a new dish for them. Everyone loved it. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a disposable lasagna pan. We're southern so we know good squash casserole when we taste one and this one's a "repeat, goes-in-the-recipe-box favorite. Next stop for the next batch I make goes to the church fellowship hall for Sunday dinner. WOO HOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
My family loves this dish! I didn't peel or mash the squash but sliced/quartered it and I didn't use the butter. Used reduced fat sour cream to lower the calorie count as we're watching our diets. Used Vidalia onion and cut into bite sized pieces for extra flavor. Also used cream of mushroom soup and I'm going to try cream of celery soup next time to see how it tastes. I also have blended zucchini and yellow squash for a different look to the dish sometimes. This dish gets thumbs up everywhere I take it. Great way to use the garden goodies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
AWESOME! First dish to go at big parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
This casserole was a bit dry and didn't bring out the flavor of the squash (my husband's favorite).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: China Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States