Squash Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
My family loves this dish! I didn't peel or mash the squash but sliced/quartered it and I didn't use the butter. Used reduced fat sour cream to lower the calorie count as we're watching our diets. Used Vidalia onion and cut into bite sized pieces for extra flavor. Also used cream of mushroom soup and I'm going to try cream of celery soup next time to see how it tastes. I also have blended zucchini and yellow squash for a different look to the dish sometimes. This dish gets thumbs up everywhere I take it. Great way to use the garden goodies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I omit the carrots and use 2 boxes of stuffing with 1/2 cup margarine. I mix the margarine with all the stuffing, then mix 1/2 the mixture with the squash mixture and place the other half of the mixture on top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
My family and I have been making this exact recipe for years at Thanksgiving, so I know it is amazing! This recipe is the reason I don't like to try other squash casseroles -- honestly, the other ones I have tried NEVER stack up! Things I do differently: I don't peel or seed my squash. I cut the squash instead into about 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick slices before boiling, and I do not mash them after boiling -- I just put the slices in the casserole. It tastes delicious this way, although I imagine mashing is good for tricking picky eaters. Another good tip -- you can swap out yellow squash for zucchini in this recipe, or do half and half for some variety and color -- the taste is about the same. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NERDYCHEESECAKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This is so good. One of my guests asked what the casserole was after going back for seconds. When I said "squash," she replied, "But I hate squash, and this is delicious." I had to print multiples copies of the recipe for my guests. You'll love this. Guaranteed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d newman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Holiday Island, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I love squash and wanted something yummy besides fried squash. My neighbor gave me this recipe to try and it is AMAZING! The only change I did make was adding grated cheese to the recipe to make it cheesy and kid friendly! One hint I would like to give is -- instead of boiling the squash and onion, sautee it in olive oil for 10-15 minutes. This gives the dish a better flavor and the squash isn't as mushy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
If you are a squash lover, this dish is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evieg17

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I love this recipe. My good friend's mom taught me to make this and I always bless her when I do. But, she taught me one difference which really makes this an outstanding Thanksgiving dish. We use Butternut squash instead. The flavor is richer, the color is spectacular, it's all good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
AWESOME! First dish to go at big parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
I get requests for this recipe everytime I make it. Its made every Thanksgiving and its not hard to make. I use the pepperidge farm dressing instead of the stuffing mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KR
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
Oh so tasty! We have a garden and the squash were piling up on the counter and I had to try a new dish for them. Everyone loved it. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a disposable lasagna pan. We're southern so we know good squash casserole when we taste one and this one's a "repeat, goes-in-the-recipe-box favorite. Next stop for the next batch I make goes to the church fellowship hall for Sunday dinner. WOO HOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States