Squash Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I always liked squash casseroles with cheese so I varied slightly from the original recipe. Used zucchini instead as that is what I had on hand. Zucchini was sliced thin and boiled for 5 mins, then sauteed in the butter with onions and carrots for 5 mins. Never mashed. Then added soup, sour cream and mixture of cheddar and mozzarella cheese (about 3/4 c each). Layered in dish as directed and baked. Turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Used crookneck squash from garden. This dish was so delicious I couldnt get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tashjean
Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I just put the stuffing on the top, and skipped the butter like many other reviewers. And I used cream of mushroom soup. I, too, sliced but didn't peel or mash the squash and this time I'm using zucchini and yellow croockneck squash to mix it up. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lil' Punkin
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I got some free squash and zucchini from a co-worker and found this recipe to try out. I did a few things different. I quartered the squash and zucchini and sauted them with the onions in olive oil and garlic. I didn't mash them but put the chunks in with the soup/sour cream mixture and added a can of Rotel. The Rotel gave the dish the flavor some other reviewers complained was lacking. My husband said he would have this almost vegetarian dish anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil' Punkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I followed the recipe as it is. It was a great hit. The second time I made it I didn't peel and seed. I couldn't see any difference so I now don't bother to peel and seed. My family loves this recipe. I get asked for the recipe whenever I bring it to a function. Thanks for sharing Ladysmom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I love squash and wanted something yummy besides fried squash. My neighbor gave me this recipe to try and it is AMAZING! The only change I did make was adding grated cheese to the recipe to make it cheesy and kid friendly! One hint I would like to give is -- instead of boiling the squash and onion, sautee it in olive oil for 10-15 minutes. This gives the dish a better flavor and the squash isn't as mushy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This was excellent. I added some leftover roast chicken for a one pot meal. Hubbie loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
my family loved this recipe. this is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Judging by the ratings, this seems to be a hit or miss recipe. Obviously it was a miss with me and the wife, and we both like squash. The squash was fresh from our backyard garden so that wasn't the problem. What put me off was the sour cream. And that's odd because I like sour cream. But it didn't suit me in this recipe. I did like the herbed bread stuffing. I may try this again minus the sour cream (we have three very healthy squash plants that seem determined to take over the planet so I have to do something.) My thanks and appreciation to Ladysmom for the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNESSEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
My family and I have been making this exact recipe for years at Thanksgiving, so I know it is amazing! This recipe is the reason I don't like to try other squash casseroles -- honestly, the other ones I have tried NEVER stack up! Things I do differently: I don't peel or seed my squash. I cut the squash instead into about 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick slices before boiling, and I do not mash them after boiling -- I just put the slices in the casserole. It tastes delicious this way, although I imagine mashing is good for tricking picky eaters. Another good tip -- you can swap out yellow squash for zucchini in this recipe, or do half and half for some variety and color -- the taste is about the same. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NERDYCHEESECAKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States