Squash Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Easy, simple and delicious! I will note that I followed the directions loosely but used all the same ingredients. It's summer squash season in Texas and it was nice to find something different that even the kids will eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I made this with squash and zuchinni straight out of our garden. I must say this was delicious ! I did saute my veggies. I also used garlic butter crackers and crumbled them up and put half of them in the mix and the other half on top and it was ohhh so yummy ! Thanks for a recipe that allows the veggies to shine through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariann Benton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Loved it. I used a bit less butter than called for. It is surprisingly tasty for such a simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I was looking for a squash casserole that didn't use canned soup or cheese -- I did make some adjustments - I did not cook the squash covered in water - just a few tblsp in the pan - then drained cooked squash and did not mash - omitted sugar and followed another reviewers suggestion and mixed 2/3 of the bread crumbs right in with the squash and put the rest on top. I used seasoned bread crumbs because that was what I had on hand and also mixed in one tablespoon chicken soup base (NOT boullion). Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This was really good! I was looking for something simple that would use the huge amount of summer squash I just bought at the local farmer's market. This turned out great! I did add a whole small vidalia onion though because I tend to like onion so I was pretty sure it would be good. Delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EClark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This is really good, my kids loveeeeed it. I did squeeze out excess water and i think I did too much and I added the bread crumbs to the mixture. I will make this again, just not squeeze as much, lol. Yummy thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Great! My changes: I used half zucchini and half yellow squash, cut the butter in half and used panko bread crumbs (all I had on hand!) The recipe came out terrific. I served it on a weeknight along side braised short-ribs and roasted cherry tomatoes. Great meal! I have saved this recipe and will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Perhaps I did something wrong, but this was so watery and bland. I used Progresso bread crumbs and I think I used too many because it was overwhelming. Too bad. I was hoping for a healthy, and delicious, squash recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acredawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Great recipe for all the summer squash. The 1/2 recipe was the perfect size for 2 adults and 2 kids. I mashed the squash in a colander and the consistency was great but the bread crumbs on top stayed too dry. I used the canned bread crumbs - maybe try panko instead next time or mix most of it in with the squash. It's also a bit too sweet for us so I will cut the sugar next time too. But we've already talked about making it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I read the advice on the other comments and it came out great! I didn't have onion with me, so I just added onion powder. I will definitively do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States