Squash Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
This recipe has a wonderful flavor, but was a little watery. I think I'll cut down on the liquid next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I found this recipe to be watery and not creamy at all. I reduced the amount of water added to the 2 qt casserole dish and it was still too much. I would suggest draining off all excess liquid from the squash and replacing with milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Turned out very good. I only used 3 squash, but I kind of wish I had added in another, perhaps one more small one. And I didnt have enough sour cream so I added some plain yogurt with it to make up the difference and that didnt hurt any. I also mixed a few handfuls of breadcrumbs into the mixture and only poured half the squash water into it-for those of you who complained your casseroles were watery, that might help! mine wasn't runny at all. bread crumbs inside will help sop up the extra moisture :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe! My boys are not really fans of squash but they ate this up when I served it with baked chicken. The second time I made it I used stuffing mix because it's what I had on hand and added leftover diced chicken right in. Wonderful! My kids loved it enough to ask if they can have friends over next time I make it. Keep up the great ideas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Taste just like my Grandmothers. Yum! Will keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
My hubby made this a couple of nights ago. Seriously delicious! He doubled the recipe and drained the water, but otherwise made no changes. We all loved it with BBQ'd chicken, and I have been eating it for lunch and dinner ever since. It's almost gone so we bought the ingredients last night so he can make it again. Thanks for a great recipe Gayle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Excellent recipe! I was looking for the southern classic of my childhood memories, and found it here. Thanks so much! I sometimes add a grated carrot to the mix for color and extra nutrients. Another idea for variety (or to transform into a one-dish meal for lighter eaters) I sometimes add grated cheese added to the top during the last 15 minute is also good. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I only used half the liquid after reading the reviews, and I still thought it was pretty runny. I also added some salt/pepper, Italian seasoning and paprika. The flavor was good, so I would make it again with less liquid added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jessup, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I was a little nervous but this recipe turned out great! I didn't have sour cream so I substituted in a creamy spinach dip I had left over. VERY TASTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States