Squash-Carrot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This is amazingly good. Wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This was just too rich for us - the flavor was good, but a little scoop went way too far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving after I read the reviews. I was so disappointed. This tasted like a dish that you would get at a cafeteria or an old folks home. I made it for 7 people and they all rated it a 4 out of 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I am REQUIRED to make this every event...I fry some bacon and cook Vidalia onions in it. I then use carrot matchsticks and cook them soft in Chicken broth for about 10 minutes. I also cook the squash in that also. Otherwise, I do everything else the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Served this with a pork tenderloin & everyone raved how good it was. I made this with half summer squash and half zucchini. I boiled the squash, zucchini & carrots for ten minutes. I saute onion and a tablespoon of minced garlic in a tiny dap of olive oil for about minutes. I used fat free condensed soup and "light" cream cheese & still tasted yummy, rich and satisfying. I also sprinkled in 1/4 c of the stuffing mix into the baking mixture which helped dish to have a more firm texture. AFTER the casserole had baked for 30 minutes I then sprinkled an additional 1/2 c of the stuffing and baked for 15 more minutes..this prevented the stuffing from becoming too hard & dry. Next time I am going to try to decrease the butter by a few tablespoons. A new favorite...thanks Robin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Have just prepared ingredients for baking - remains to be seen how it tastes. HOWEVER, listing the squash ingredient as 8 cups COOKED squash is not helpful, especially to someone who is not all that expert in the kitchen! I cooked about 12 cups uncooked squash to get ALMOST 8 cups cooked squash. Revise recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
It was good but not great. Was a little too creamy for our taste. Not sure I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I have made this recipe twice in the last two weeks and my family loves it. The only thing I do differently is saute the onions and carrots first so that they aren't too crunchy, and I sprinkle water over the stuffing on top so it is not too crunchy as well. Other than that I stuck to it. You could even use zucchini or any type of squash in place of the yellow, and you could use different soups for something different. Thanks for sharing this recipe, it gave me a good way to use up my garden squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Very good. Good flavoring. I sliced carrots and cooked them with the squash instead of grating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
With many recipes that call for stuffing topping, it works better to add that ingredient about half-way through the oven baking part. The topping doesn't need to "cook" and I've found it will sometimes get too hard/brown otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States