Squash Braid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was my first time ever making yeast bread, and it came out great. I was so surprised! Regarding others' reviews, sure, it doesn't taste particularly squashy or sweet, but I think it just tastes like good bread. My husband is definitely a fan, based on how he keeps coming out to pull off another piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This recipe was a great find! this beautiful bread makes an excellent addition (and decoration) to a hearty family meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roseinglis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Best use of squash I've ever known! I'm not much of a squash fan. I convince my wife, the break maker in the family, to make this recipe, it is sweet and delicious. Good toasted with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aylmer, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This bread was just O.K. It was lacking flavor. I would add maybe some brown sugar and pumpkin pie spice if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hummingbird
Home Town: Camden, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I'm a novice at making bread, and this recipe baffled me. Using three cups of flour, I ended up with a sticky, "un-kneadable" mess. I added two more cups of flour and kneaded it thoroughly; the bread came out beautiful and delicious. I'm still not sure if I've misinterpreted the recipe, but the final result was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I made this bread as one loaf and a roll (so I could taste it earlier!) with several modifications. Instead of the squash, I used canned pumpkin (had some that needed using). I also used 1/2 white whole wheat flour and 1/2 stone ground whole wheat flour. The last modification I made was to use honey and molasses in place of the brown sugar. This bread turned out beautifully. Using the pumpkin gave it a rich color (more than I think you'd get with the squash) and the flavor is subtle, but fantastic. The bread, even though it is with 100% whole wheat, is delicate, soft and light. Next time I make it, I may add a little more molasses and maybe a pinch of nutmeg. I will certainly make this bread again- as a braid or as rolls- both worked out great. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MILKLISSA79
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This bread was just ok for me. It smelled awesome baking but had little flavor. I even put cinnamon in it thinking that it would make it tastier. I think it may be better with a cinnamon sugar infused butter. I guess I was just expecting something sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUSANDON
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This recipe is fabulous! I grow butternut squash and have 3 bushels to use. Though I freeze a great deal of it to use through the Winter, this is exactly the type of recipe I was looking for, something to use butternut for that is unique, pretty and delicious. I made it in my bread machine to dough stage, then took it out let it rest 15 minutes after punching down. Mine had a tone of air bubbles in it but I soon discovered that is what made this the lightest most tender danish style dough I have ever eaten. Roll it out to a roughly 16x12 inch rectangle, dont try and work out all the bubbles. Spread with 1/2 stick softened butter. Mix 1/2 c brown sugar, 1/3 c raisins, 1/3 c finely chopped nuts, 1/8 c. orange juice. Spread this mixture over buttered dough, roll up fairly tight, twist and shape into circle on cookie sheet. Bake at 350 till med golden brown. I also replaced the 2 Tbsp of water in the recipe with 2 Tbsp orange juice. Unbelievable, thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
great recipe! it was a favorite in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
The bread was moist and yummy! To cut the fat and incease the flavor I subsituted 1/4 of the butter for applesauce and I added cardamom spice for a bit more flavor. It turned out great! I also used 2 1/2 cups of whole wheat flower and 1/2 cup of wheat germ instead of white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States