Squash Braid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
This makes a great bread that the entire family loved. It can be a little tedious to make sure the temp is correct on the water and milk, but as bread making goes...this one is easy. Instead of dividing it for 2 loaves I made one large loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
This bread looked beautiful and smelled delicious coming out of the oven, but it just wasn't very flavorful. It didn't taste bad; it just didn't really taste at all. I even used slightly more than the one cup of squash called for. If I were to make it again, I'd add more sugar and probably sprinkle some rock sugar on the top, or else increase the salt and use some herbs for flavoring. But I won't make this recipe again. If I am going to take the time to bake homemade bread, I'll stick to flavorful challah bread or even traditional french bread. Save your butternut squash for risotto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This bread was delicious. I only waited 30 minutes for the dough to rise and then 10 more once it was braided. I also only made one giant loaf. It came out perfect and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
The bread was moist and yummy! To cut the fat and incease the flavor I subsituted 1/4 of the butter for applesauce and I added cardamom spice for a bit more flavor. It turned out great! I also used 2 1/2 cups of whole wheat flower and 1/2 cup of wheat germ instead of white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
great recipe! it was a favorite in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUSANDON
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This recipe is fabulous! I grow butternut squash and have 3 bushels to use. Though I freeze a great deal of it to use through the Winter, this is exactly the type of recipe I was looking for, something to use butternut for that is unique, pretty and delicious. I made it in my bread machine to dough stage, then took it out let it rest 15 minutes after punching down. Mine had a tone of air bubbles in it but I soon discovered that is what made this the lightest most tender danish style dough I have ever eaten. Roll it out to a roughly 16x12 inch rectangle, dont try and work out all the bubbles. Spread with 1/2 stick softened butter. Mix 1/2 c brown sugar, 1/3 c raisins, 1/3 c finely chopped nuts, 1/8 c. orange juice. Spread this mixture over buttered dough, roll up fairly tight, twist and shape into circle on cookie sheet. Bake at 350 till med golden brown. I also replaced the 2 Tbsp of water in the recipe with 2 Tbsp orange juice. Unbelievable, thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MILKLISSA79
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This bread was just ok for me. It smelled awesome baking but had little flavor. I even put cinnamon in it thinking that it would make it tastier. I think it may be better with a cinnamon sugar infused butter. I guess I was just expecting something sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I made this bread as one loaf and a roll (so I could taste it earlier!) with several modifications. Instead of the squash, I used canned pumpkin (had some that needed using). I also used 1/2 white whole wheat flour and 1/2 stone ground whole wheat flour. The last modification I made was to use honey and molasses in place of the brown sugar. This bread turned out beautifully. Using the pumpkin gave it a rich color (more than I think you'd get with the squash) and the flavor is subtle, but fantastic. The bread, even though it is with 100% whole wheat, is delicate, soft and light. Next time I make it, I may add a little more molasses and maybe a pinch of nutmeg. I will certainly make this bread again- as a braid or as rolls- both worked out great. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I'm a novice at making bread, and this recipe baffled me. Using three cups of flour, I ended up with a sticky, "un-kneadable" mess. I added two more cups of flour and kneaded it thoroughly; the bread came out beautiful and delicious. I'm still not sure if I've misinterpreted the recipe, but the final result was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This bread was just O.K. It was lacking flavor. I would add maybe some brown sugar and pumpkin pie spice if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hummingbird
Home Town: Camden, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States