Squash Braid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I made this without altering the recipe at all. This is probably one of the best bread recipes I have ever used. The dough is so soft and nice to handle. The texture of the bread is beautiful and the taste....well, you just want to keep eating it. Definately a 5 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
My first bread and it turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This bread definately deserves a 5. It is idiot proof. I even forgot to add the butter, and it still turned out amazing! After the egg wash, I sprinkled a medium grain salt, along with dried thyme leaves and it was fantastic. I made one big braid, and it was gone within 2 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FalconJB
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Fantastic! Followed just as is and it came out soft and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FalconJB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This was my first bread baking experience so it took me a little while. But I do believe I know why that one reviewer needed 5 cups of flour instead of 3. The directions do not say to drain the butternut squash after boiling it so perhaps that person mashed the squash with the water still in the pot. I say this because mine was hard to mix up with 3 cups and I had to stop and think about draining the squash when I was following the directions. Unfortunately I thought I put just over a cup of squash in the mix, but after I braided the dough and was washing the dishes I realized I had used a 1/2 cup and not a 1 cup measure. So I think the bread may have been dryer that it was supposed to be. But I agree that the bread needs something. While I was eating it I thought perhaps the cinnamon spiced butter at Texas Roadhouse or apple butter would work great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Outstanding! This makes a soft, moist bread that looks lovely and tastes even better. I used acorn squash, which gave the loaf a lovely orange colour and a smooth texture. It does not taste 'squashy' at all, any more than potato bread tastes like potatoes. I made two braids on Saturday, and am making two more on Tuesday. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I loved it. I added about a tablespoon of dried rosemary to the dough, and sprinkled with it also along with some kosher salt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maloumade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I used Acorn Squash for this recipe. The bread is fantastic. It makes a huge loaf so I took half of it to share at work and it was gone before I could get a piece myself. Soft and slightly sweet on the inside and "just right" crunchy outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
amazing.. i make it every year for thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
A great idea to serve a more savory bread to compliment a Christmas turkey dinner. It didn't go over as well as I expected. The very yellow colour and too soft crust are what I didn't care for. I would liken the texture to that of a croissant. The dough was very easy to work with and the actual bread texture was quite good. I baked it in a round shape and served it with pats of both sage and whipped butter. I'll save most of it to hopefully make a good toast. I may look around to improve this bread or opt for another recipe. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States