Squash Braid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
this bread is YUMMY!! turns out great even if you dont rise it all the way. It is better fresh so eat it all !(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k8cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
It was alright. It was my first time using yeast and I could have totally messed it up that way, but as others stated, the flavor was lacking. I made it exactly as directed and I think I will try some new things next time. I also had a difficult time making it not too sticky, though in the end the texture came out perfect. Maybe I'll try molasses or nutmeg like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Torneby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tcross27
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This was my first try ever at home made bread! Success!!!! It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I love this recipe!! I first used this to make hot cross buns. I added raisins, doubled the sugar, a heaping teaspoon of salt, and made them into 3oz rolls. So good! I'm generally terrible at making bread. It often doesn't rise for me and is hard as a rock within 24 hours. This recipe however I have never had trouble with. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This is the best yeast bread I've ever eaten. I used a cup of mashed leftover roasted butternut squash cubes that I had previously seasoned with thyme, salt, pepper and olive oil. Roasted squash is sweeter than boiled; I think that added to the flavor. The bread wasn't too sweet, however. I put all the ingredients into my bread machine and used the dough cycle. I needed to add 1/2 c more flour, but the dough still finished very soft/sticky. I formed it into a long loaf with as little handling as possible (didn't want to add more flour and wind up with dry bread) and baked it on a well-greased cookie sheet (I didn't use the egg wash). It came out so soft with a perfect crumb. This is a great recipe; thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I have made this several times now and the family raves about it every time! Two loaves is not enough...all five kids and us two adults will eat those loaves in one sitting. They even ask me to make it more often. I have to buy a few squash and boil and mash to have on hand when you can't find it! Freezes good and tastes great every time!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Knowles Harris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This bread had wonderful texture, but it was a bit bland. I wasn't expecting it to taste "squashy" and it didn't. The one thing I've discovered about squash in baking is that it keeps the final product very moist and tender, not necessarily flavors it. Since that wasn't the goal, I wasn't disappointed that I couldn't taste the squash. I just thought the dough could've used more salt. I whipped up some maple butter to combat the somewhat tasteless bread and my double recipe (which I only made into two large loaves) disappeared faster than you can say "butternut squash." For texture alone, I will absolutely revisit this recipe, either adding more salt alone, or possible a little more sweetener also to make it into a sweet roll type base (filled or unfilled would both be good). Last thing - I used all whole wheat flour and this bread still had light and fluffy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mel
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made this vegan & it turned out great! I used egg replacer, soy milk & Earth Balance vegan butter. I added the picture (with the sriracha bottle in the background) for proof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This is my first yeast-bread experience. I usually make my bread in my handy dandy bread machine, but this looked so festive I had to give it a try. My mom walked me through kneading and explained how to braid it. I followed another reviewers suggestion and made a small sample roll on the side. Moist and mild, and very fluffy. Instead of two loaves I made one large, beautiful shiny braid. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Yum! A delicious twist to a traditional challah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States