Squash Braid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I made this bread as one loaf and a roll (so I could taste it earlier!) with several modifications. Instead of the squash, I used canned pumpkin (had some that needed using). I also used 1/2 white whole wheat flour and 1/2 stone ground whole wheat flour. The last modification I made was to use honey and molasses in place of the brown sugar. This bread turned out beautifully. Using the pumpkin gave it a rich color (more than I think you'd get with the squash) and the flavor is subtle, but fantastic. The bread, even though it is with 100% whole wheat, is delicate, soft and light. Next time I make it, I may add a little more molasses and maybe a pinch of nutmeg. I will certainly make this bread again- as a braid or as rolls- both worked out great. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUSANDON
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This recipe is fabulous! I grow butternut squash and have 3 bushels to use. Though I freeze a great deal of it to use through the Winter, this is exactly the type of recipe I was looking for, something to use butternut for that is unique, pretty and delicious. I made it in my bread machine to dough stage, then took it out let it rest 15 minutes after punching down. Mine had a tone of air bubbles in it but I soon discovered that is what made this the lightest most tender danish style dough I have ever eaten. Roll it out to a roughly 16x12 inch rectangle, dont try and work out all the bubbles. Spread with 1/2 stick softened butter. Mix 1/2 c brown sugar, 1/3 c raisins, 1/3 c finely chopped nuts, 1/8 c. orange juice. Spread this mixture over buttered dough, roll up fairly tight, twist and shape into circle on cookie sheet. Bake at 350 till med golden brown. I also replaced the 2 Tbsp of water in the recipe with 2 Tbsp orange juice. Unbelievable, thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I finally made this bread tonight with dinner. It was wonderful. Great smell and fantastic taste and texture. I followed the recipe exactly. I would not change a thing. For those who said it was 'tasteless', perhaps you don't realize that squash (I used Butternut Squash) has a very delicate taste. It is not bold, nor is this bread. The butternut flavor came through without question. This is not a sweet bread (as in dessert), so don't let the little bit of Brown Sugar scare you. It's a fantastic treat for the palate and is hearty enough to go great with dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This bread is utterly fantastic. It's sweet and light and I could not stop eating it!!! I may grow more squash next year just to use to make this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkPrincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This bread was delicious. I only waited 30 minutes for the dough to rise and then 10 more once it was braided. I also only made one giant loaf. It came out perfect and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
This makes a great bread that the entire family loved. It can be a little tedious to make sure the temp is correct on the water and milk, but as bread making goes...this one is easy. Instead of dividing it for 2 loaves I made one large loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KarenCanCook
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Excellent recipe! I modified it by using wheat flour instead of whole wheat flour. I also substituted maple syrup for the sugar. I also added some maple syrup to the final egg wash. I think this recipe would be great with raisins in the dough; I am going to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenCanCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
A great idea to serve a more savory bread to compliment a Christmas turkey dinner. It didn't go over as well as I expected. The very yellow colour and too soft crust are what I didn't care for. I would liken the texture to that of a croissant. The dough was very easy to work with and the actual bread texture was quite good. I baked it in a round shape and served it with pats of both sage and whipped butter. I'll save most of it to hopefully make a good toast. I may look around to improve this bread or opt for another recipe. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I loved it. I added about a tablespoon of dried rosemary to the dough, and sprinkled with it also along with some kosher salt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maloumade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I used Acorn Squash for this recipe. The bread is fantastic. It makes a huge loaf so I took half of it to share at work and it was gone before I could get a piece myself. Soft and slightly sweet on the inside and "just right" crunchy outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States