Squash Braid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
This makes a great bread that the entire family loved. It can be a little tedious to make sure the temp is correct on the water and milk, but as bread making goes...this one is easy. Instead of dividing it for 2 loaves I made one large loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
This bread looked beautiful and smelled delicious coming out of the oven, but it just wasn't very flavorful. It didn't taste bad; it just didn't really taste at all. I even used slightly more than the one cup of squash called for. If I were to make it again, I'd add more sugar and probably sprinkle some rock sugar on the top, or else increase the salt and use some herbs for flavoring. But I won't make this recipe again. If I am going to take the time to bake homemade bread, I'll stick to flavorful challah bread or even traditional french bread. Save your butternut squash for risotto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This bread was delicious. I only waited 30 minutes for the dough to rise and then 10 more once it was braided. I also only made one giant loaf. It came out perfect and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
The bread was moist and yummy! To cut the fat and incease the flavor I subsituted 1/4 of the butter for applesauce and I added cardamom spice for a bit more flavor. It turned out great! I also used 2 1/2 cups of whole wheat flower and 1/2 cup of wheat germ instead of white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
great recipe! it was a favorite in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUSANDON
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This recipe is fabulous! I grow butternut squash and have 3 bushels to use. Though I freeze a great deal of it to use through the Winter, this is exactly the type of recipe I was looking for, something to use butternut for that is unique, pretty and delicious. I made it in my bread machine to dough stage, then took it out let it rest 15 minutes after punching down. Mine had a tone of air bubbles in it but I soon discovered that is what made this the lightest most tender danish style dough I have ever eaten. Roll it out to a roughly 16x12 inch rectangle, dont try and work out all the bubbles. Spread with 1/2 stick softened butter. Mix 1/2 c brown sugar, 1/3 c raisins, 1/3 c finely chopped nuts, 1/8 c. orange juice. Spread this mixture over buttered dough, roll up fairly tight, twist and shape into circle on cookie sheet. Bake at 350 till med golden brown. I also replaced the 2 Tbsp of water in the recipe with 2 Tbsp orange juice. Unbelievable, thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MILKLISSA79
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This bread was just ok for me. It smelled awesome baking but had little flavor. I even put cinnamon in it thinking that it would make it tastier. I think it may be better with a cinnamon sugar infused butter. I guess I was just expecting something sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I made this bread as one loaf and a roll (so I could taste it earlier!) with several modifications. Instead of the squash, I used canned pumpkin (had some that needed using). I also used 1/2 white whole wheat flour and 1/2 stone ground whole wheat flour. The last modification I made was to use honey and molasses in place of the brown sugar. This bread turned out beautifully. Using the pumpkin gave it a rich color (more than I think you'd get with the squash) and the flavor is subtle, but fantastic. The bread, even though it is with 100% whole wheat, is delicate, soft and light. Next time I make it, I may add a little more molasses and maybe a pinch of nutmeg. I will certainly make this bread again- as a braid or as rolls- both worked out great. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I'm a novice at making bread, and this recipe baffled me. Using three cups of flour, I ended up with a sticky, "un-kneadable" mess. I added two more cups of flour and kneaded it thoroughly; the bread came out beautiful and delicious. I'm still not sure if I've misinterpreted the recipe, but the final result was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This bread was just O.K. It was lacking flavor. I would add maybe some brown sugar and pumpkin pie spice if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hummingbird
Home Town: Camden, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States